Spring Champion Stakes

Group 1

  • row1
    Date: Oct 10, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $1,000,000


Sprint stars to return in Black Caviar


Chris Waller's two star sprinters Nature Strip and September Run will both resume in the Black Caviar Lightning at Flemington next month.Waller said they had both come through their trial at Rosehill last Friday in g... Continue Reading

Fabergino ready to fly fresh at Flemington Fake Love scratched from Magic Millions Millions runners require vet clearance Tycoon's Millions bid takes hit with draw An array of stars nominate for All-Star Read more Horse Racing news

The Spring Champion Stakes is a 2000m Group 1 race held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. It is run with set weights and has a total prize pool of $1 million. In 2020, the Spring Champion Stakes will be raced on Saturday, October 10.

Shadow Hero claimed victory in the 2019 edition of the Spring Champion Stakes, beating a strong field that included Castelvecchio and Battenburg, who finished second and third. Later in the spring, Shadow Hero finished mid-field in the Group 1 Victoria Derby.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Spring Champion Stakes was in 1971, with Gay Icarus crossing the line in first. Since then we’ve seen some great horses win the race, including Kingston Town, Savabeel and It’s A Dundeel.

Trainer Mark Newnham has enjoyed the Spring Champion Stakes of late, winning it the last two years. The first victory was with Maid Of Heaven, who beat Aramayo and Thinkin’ Big, and that win was followed by the success of Shadow Hero.

Hampton Court recorded the fastest 2000m time in the race over the last 20 years, clocking 2:00.30 to win the Spring Champion Stakes in 2014. That time also happens to be the 2000m Randwick track record.

2020 Spring Champion Stakes Field

1Cherry Tortoni (4)J: Unknown 56.5kg T: Patrick Payne$6.00$2.25
2Global Quest (9)J: Glen Boss 56.5kg T: C J Waller$26.00$6.00
3Love Tap (14)J: Nash Rawiller 56.5kg T: R & M Freedman$3.70$1.70
4Street Dancer (15)J: Regan Bayliss 56.5kg T: A J Cummings$26.00$6.00
5Bucharest (3)J: James Mcdonald 56.5kg T: C J Waller$16.00$4.60
6Lion’s Roar (7)J: Brenton Avdulla 56.5kg T: J A O’shea$26.00$6.00
7Achiever (10)J: Unknown 56.5kg T: C J Waller$41.00$8.50
8Albarado (11)J: Tim Clark 56.5kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$26.00$6.00
9Choir (2)J: Ms Rachel King 56.5kg T: James Cummings$16.00$4.60
10Wertheimer (8)J: Tommy Berry 56.5kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$16.00$4.60
11Socrates (5)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 56.5kg T: J A O’shea$41.00$8.50
12Gorshin (6)J: Ms Louise Day 56.5kg T: A J Cummings$151.00$31.00
13Montefilia (1)J: Jason Collett 54.5kg T: David Payne$3.70$1.65
14Miravalle (13)J: Joshua Parr 54.5kg T: Mark Newnham$15.00$4.20
15Favreau (12)J: Sam Clipperton 56.5kg T: J G Sargent$21.00$5.50



2019 – Shadow Hero (2:00.79)
2018 – Maid Of Heaven (2:05.59)
2017 – Ace High (2:03.94)
2016 – Yankee Rose (2:02.43)
2015 – Vanbrugh (2:02.85)
2014 – Hampton Court (2:00.30)
2013 – Complacent (2:03.34)
2012 – Dundeel (2:02.63)
2011 – Doctor Doom (2:05.88)
2010 – Erewhon (2:02.95)