The Everest


  • row1
    Date: Oct 17,. 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $15,000,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Everest is the richest turf race in the world, with a total prize pool of $15 million. It is held at Randwick Racecourse and is run under weight-for-age conditions over 1200m. There is a $600,000 entry fee and in 2020, it will be run on Saturday, October 17.

The 2019 edition of the race was won by Yes Yes Yes, with Santa Ana Lane and Trekking finishing second and third respectively. Both horses finished less than a length behind the winner. Yes Yes Yes hasn’t raced since winning the $15 million race.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of The Everest was in 2017, with Redzel claiming victory. He followed it up the next year with another victory, however, finished mid-field in the 2019 race.

The Everest was thrust into the spotlight in 2018 when organisers were set to advertise the race on the Sydney Opera House. A petition against the campaign had over 300,000 signatures, however, it still went ahead.


Yes Yes Yes set the Randwick 1200m track record in his 2019 Everest win. He ran home in a time of 1:07.32, stunning racing fans around the country..

The Everest Field

As mentioned, a slot in The Everest costs $600,000. Whoever holds a slot is able to do whatever they want with it. In 2017, the owners of eventual winner Redzel struck a deal with James Harron to use his slot. It is limited to 12 horses and features the very best sprinters from around the country and world.

2020 The Everest Field

Horse Win Place
1 Nature Strip (5)J: James Mcdonald 58.5kg T: C J Waller $4.60 $1.90
2 Trekking (4)J: Joshua Parr 58.5kg T: James Cummings $11.00 $3.50
3 Classique Legend (6)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 58.5kg T: L J Bridge $4.60 $1.90
4 Santa Ana Lane (8)J: Sam Clipperton 58.5kg T: A & S Freedman $26.00 $6.00
5 Behemoth (2)J: Nash Rawiller 58.5kg T: D R Jolly $9.00 $3.00
6 Bivouac (10)J: Glen Boss 58.5kg T: James Cummings $13.00 $3.80
7 Gytrash (7)J: Jason Collett 58.5kg T: G V Richards $6.50 $2.40
8 Eduardo (9)J: Ms Rachel King 58.5kg T: Joseph Pride $21.00 $5.50
9 Dollar For Dollar (1)J: Tim Clark 58.5kg T: T & C Mcevoy $67.00 $13.00
10 Tofane (11)J: Tommy Berry 56.5kg T: M D Moroney $20.00 $5.00
11 Libertini (12)J: Regan Bayliss 56.5kg T: A J Cummings $9.00 $3.00
12 Haut Brion Her (3)J: Brenton Avdulla 56.5kg T: C J Waller $34.00 $7.00
13 Deprive (13)J: Unknown 58.5kg T: James Cummings $101.00 $21.00
14 Special Reward (14)J: Unknown 58.5kg T: K A Lees $201.00 $31.00
15 Standout (15)J: Unknown 58.5kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou $201.00 $31.00
16 Tactical Advantage (16)J: Unknown 58.5kg T: K A Lees $301.00 $51.00


The Everest Betting

All three winners of The Everest had odds of around $8.50 when they won. Even in Redzel’s second victory, he was not the favourite, that year it was the Anthony Freedman-trained Shoals. The history suggests that it isn’t the easiest race to find a winner but if you can you get decent value.

The Everest Results

1 Yes Yes Yes Chris Waller Glen Boss $9
2 Santa Ana Lane Anthony Freedman Mark Zahra $5.50
3 Trekking James Cummings Joshua Parr $31
4 Nature Strip Chris Waller Tim Clark $21
5 Pierata Gregory Hickman Tommy Berry $7
6 Classique Legend Les Bridge Nash Rawiller $18
7 Alizee James Cummings Hugh Bowman $9
8 Redzel Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy $13
9 In Her Time Kris Lees Brenton Avdulla $21
10 Sunlight Tony & Calvin McEvoy Luke Currie $13
11 Arcadia Queen Chris Waller James McDonald $5
12 Ten Sovereigns Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore $20


2019 – Yes Yes Yes
2018 – Redzel
2017 – Redzel