Cox Plate

Group 1

  • row1
    Date: Oct 24, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,040m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $5,000,000


Hawkes colts fight out Golden Rose finish

Rosehill 4 3 19580323 2031414 20200926170940c4a8bb0f f128 44f8 aeb6

Two superbly bred Hawkes Racing colts have fought out the finish of the Group One Golden Rose as Rothfire's Everest campaign came under a cloud. The Queensland flyer, who started an odds-on favourite, punctured late t... Continue Reading

Rising star Russian Camelot earns praise Pippie leads throughout to win Moir Stakes September 26: 9 Must Watch Horses on Underwood Stakes Day Weight right for Boomsara in Weetwood Mark Zahra Picks Up Verry Elleegant Caulfield Cup Ride Read more Horse Racing news

The Cox Plate, one of Australia’s premier racing events, is a $5 million Group 1 weight-for-age race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse. It is raced over 2040m and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, October 24.

The 2019 edition of the Cox Plate was won by Lys Gracieux, with Castelvecchio and Te Akau Shark finishing second and third respectively. Due it being such a high-profile race, there were a number of other top runners who finished further back in the field, including Mystic Journey, Avilius, Black Heart Bart and Verry Elleegant. Lys Gracieux took no further part in the spring after winning the Cox Plate.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race takes its name from the founder of the Moonee Valley Racing Club, William Samuel Cox. He passed away in 1895, however, his family continued on his legacy in the sport.

Violoncello won the very first running of the Cox Plate way back in 1922. Since then the very best to grace the turf have won the race, including Phar Lap, Ajax, Kingston Town, Might And Power and Winx.

Kingston Town won the race three times in a row, first saluting in 1980 before crossing the line first in 1981 and 1982. The record of three consecutive Cox Plates was one that many thought would stand the test of time, however, the mighty mare Winx changed all of that. She won in 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018, etching her name in the racing history books.

Lys Gracieux won the 2019 Cox Plate in 2:04.21, however, it should surprise no one that the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Winx. In her 2017 win, the Chris Waller-trained mare ran 2:02.94 to win her third Cox Plate. The time is also the Moonee Valley 2040m track record.

Cox Plate Field

As one of the biggest races in the Spring Racing Carnival, the Cox Plate field has many of the best horses from not only Australia but the rest of the world. During Winx’s era, the fields were reduced as there weren’t many who wanted to go up against the superstar. In 2020, nominations for the Cox Plate close on October 19, while final acceptances are on October 21.

Cox Plate Betting

Due to Winx’s dominance in the race, the betting history over the last five years of the Cox Plate is very skewed. She had a slightly higher starting price in her first victory, however, was still the favourite. 2019 winner Lys Gracieux was also a short-priced favourite and had a starting price of $2.50.

Cox Plate Results

1 Lys Gracieux Yoshito Yahagi Damian Lane $2.50
2 Castelvecchio Richard Litt Craig Williams $8.50
3 Te Akau Shark Jamie Richards Opie Bosson $17
4 Magic Wand Aidan O’Brien Ryan Moore $9
5 Mystic Journey Adam Trinder Anthony Darmanin $7.50
6 Kings Will Dream Chris Waller Hugh Bowman $26
7 Avilius James Cummings Kerrin McEvoy $13
8 Harlem Chris Waller Dwayne Dunn $61
9 Black Heart Bart Lindsey Smith Brad Rawiller $41
10 Cape Of Good Hope Chris Waller Mark Zahra $21
11 Homesman Liam Howley Ben Melham $31
12 Verry Elleegant Chris Waller James McDonald $21
13 Kluger Tomokazu Takano Tommy Berry $21
14 Danceteria David Menuisier Jamie Spencer $21


2019 – Lys Gracieux (2:04.21)
2018 – Winx (2:03.47)
2017 – Winx (2:02.94)
2016 – Winx (2:06.35)
2015 – Winx (2:02.98)
2014 – Adelaide (2:03.76)
2013 – Shamus Award (2:05.27)
2012 – Ocean Park (2:04.14)
2011 – Pinker Pinker (2:05.39)
2010 – So You Think (2:07.45)