Victoria Derby


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Victoria Derby is one of Australia’s premier Group 1 races and is run over 2500m at Flemington Racecourse in Victoria. It has a total prize pool of $2 million, is for three-year-olds and is raced with set weights. In 2020, the Victoria Derby will take place on Saturday, October 31, the same day as three other Group 1s at Flemington.

Damien Oliver rode Warning to victory in the 2019 edition of the Victoria Derby, with Southern Moon and Soul Patch finishing second and third respectively. Also in the field was Shadow Hero, Huntly Castle and Thought Of That. Warning took no further part in the spring after winning the Victoria Derby.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Victoria Derby was way back in 1855, with Rose Of May crossing the line first. A number of racing greats have since won the race, including Phar Lap (1929), Comic Court (1948), Red Anchor (1984) and Efficient (2006).

Champion jockey Hugh Bowman had great success in the Victoria Derby in the early 2010s. He rode Lion Tamer to victory in 2010 before winning onboard Sangster and Polanski. No trainer has quite been able to replicate that same recent success, however, James Scobie holds the record for trainer wins in the race with eight.

Warning ran 2:40.83 to win the 2019 Victoria Derby in what were wet conditions. The fastest time the race has seen over the last 20 years actually came the year before from Extra Brut. He clocked 2:34.31 to beat home the likes of Stars Of Carrum and Chapada.

Victoria Derby Field

The Victoria Derby field is full of some of the best three-year-old stayers in Australia and abroad. Normally the race has a big field, which means at times it can be difficult to find a winner. In 2020, nominations for the race close on October 26 and final acceptances are on October 28.

2020 Victoria Derby Final Field, Barrier Draw, & Odds

1Cherry Tortoni (14)J: W Egan 57kg T: Patrick Payne$4.80$1.90
2Albarado (8)J: M Zahra 57kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$8.00$2.45
3Johnny Get Angry (5)J: Lachlan King 57kg T: Denis Pagan$31.00$7.00
4Let’s Karaka Deel (3)J: John Allen 57kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$8.00$2.60
5Young Werther (4)J: D Oliver 57kg T: D T O’brien$3.40$1.50
6Hit The Shot (9)J: Fred W Kersley 57kg T: Matthew Cumani$7.00$2.40
7Cetshwayo (10)J: Jamie Kah 57kg T: D T O’brien$21.00$5.00
8Redwood Shadow (12)J: Jye Mcneil 57kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$11.00$3.70
9Wertheimer (6)J: J Bowman 57kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$34.00$7.00
10Tour Of Duty (13)J: J B Mc Donald 57kg T: M D Moroney$26.00$6.00
11Token Spirit (11)J: Damian Lane 57kg T: R Griffiths & M De Kock$71.00$16.00
12Born To Succeed (7)J: M J Walker 57kg T: Saab Hasan$151.00$26.00
13Wisaka (2)J: B Melham 57kg T: M D Moroney$51.00$9.00
14Kenzan (1)J: D Moor 57kg T: D T O’brien$101.00$21.00


Victoria Derby Betting

Like many of the top Group 1s in the Spring Racing Carnival, the Victoria Derby has a mixed betting history. One of the last five winners has had a starting price inside $3, four have had starting prices at $10 or less. The only outlier is 2016 winner Prized Icon who won at $17.

Victoria Derby Results

1WarningAnthony FreedmanDamien Oliver$9.50
2Southern MoonMitchell FreedmanBilly Egan$21
3Soul PatchKen KeysDwayne Dunn$3.60
4RelucentChris wallerHugh Bowman$21
5Shadow HeroMark NewnhamJoshua Parr$3
6Independent RoadDavid HayesLuke Nolen$31
7Long JackMurray Baker & Andrew ForsmanCraig Williams$21
8CraftmanshipMick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr)Jamie Kah$91
9Huntly CastleDavid HayesJye McNeil$51
10Thought Of ThatCiaron Maher & David EustaceMark Zahra$4.80
11Sign Seal DeliverMatt CumaniJohn Allen$151
12TranslatorNigel BlackistonJordan Childs$101
13He IsMark KavanaghDean Yendall$151
14Lucky EdwardTony VasilJack Hill$301
15NavarreTrent Busuttin & Natalie YoungMichael Walker$201


2019 – Warning (2:40.83)
2018 – Extra Brut (2:34.31)
2017 – Ace High (2:37.55)
2016 – Prized Icon (2:36.16)
2015 – Tarzino (2:38.39)
2014 – Preferment (2:37.81)
2013 – Polanski (2:38.66)
2012 – Fiveandahalfstar (2:35.92)
2011 – Sangster (2:40.33)
2010 – Lion Tamer (2:46.43)