Caulfield Cup

Group 1

  • row1
    Date: Oct 17, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $5,000,000


2020 Melbourne Cup Pre-Race Vet Inspection Results


Racing Victoria veterinarians completed their inspections of the top 35 runners in the 2020 Melbourne Cup (3200m) Order Of Entry on Friday, to deem their suitability to accept at Saturday’s 4:30pm deadline. Runners ... Continue Reading

Eduardo in bid for Everest redemption Godolphin trio ready to fly in Eagle Former AFL coach excited over Derby runner Aidan O'Brien pair want firm track for Cup Cumani stayer ready to Hit the Derby Read more Horse Racing news

The Caulfield Cup is a $5 million Group 1 race held at Caulfield Racecourse. It is raced over 2400m under handicap conditions and in 2020, it will be run on Saturday, October 17. The Caulfield Cup, alongside the Melbourne Cup, makes up Australia’s most prestigious double.

Mer De Glace won the 2019 edition of the Caulfield Cup, with Vow And Declare and Mirage Dancer finishing second and third respectively. Constantinople rounded out the first four, with the likes of Finche, Mustajeer and Hartnell finishing mid-field. Many of those who ran in the Caulfield Cup went on to race in the Melbourne Cup, with Vow And Declare claiming victory in the 3200m race and Mer De Glace finishing mid-field.

Our FREE TIPS are on FIRE!

Click here for free horse racing tips

Newminster won the first edition of the Caulfield Cup, which was way back in 1879. Since then, some of the greats of the turf have claimed victory in the iconic race. Rising Fast claimed back-to-back wins in the mid-50s, Ming Dynasty also won the race twice, meanwhile, more recently we’ve seen the likes of Might And Power, Northerly and Viewed be victorious.

A number of horses have managed to win the Caulfield Cup – Melbourne Cup double, which, as mentioned earlier, is as prestigious as it gets in Australian racing. Poseidon (1906) was the first to do it, and others that have achieved the feat include Rising Fast (1954), Galilee (1966), Let’s Elope (1991), Might And Power (1997) and Ethereal (2001).

2019 winner Mer De Glace won the Caulfield Cup in 2:30.16, however, the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Diatribe. The George Hanlon-trained runner clocked 2:25.32 to win in 2000.

Caulfield Cup Field

As one of the most prestigious races in the country, the Caulfield Cup field is always big and very strong. Many of those who compete in the Caulfield Cup go on to race in the Melbourne Cup. In 2020, nominations for the race close on October 12, with final acceptances on October 14.

Caulfield Cup Betting

Due to the strength and size of the field, the Caulfield Cup can be a very difficult race to find a winner. In saying that, three of the last five winners of the race have had starting prices inside $10. The biggest outsider to claim victory in that time was Boom Time, who won with a starting price of $51 in 2017.

2020 Caulfield Cup Field

Horse Win Place
1 Anthony Van Dyck (21)J: Hugh Bowman 58.5kg T: A O’brien $6.50 $2.40
2 Avilius (17)J: John Allen 57kg T: James Cummings $31.00 $8.00
3 Vow And Declare (18)J: Damien Oliver 57kg T: D T O’brien $34.00 $8.50
4 Buckhurst (9)J: Ben Melham 55kg T: Joseph O’brien $11.00 $3.50
5 Mirage Dancer (6)J: Craig Newitt 55kg T: T Busuttin & N Young $19.00 $5.50
6 Mustajeer (15)J: Billy Egan 55kg T: K A Lees $91.00 $21.00
7 Verry Elleegant (11)J: Mark Zahra 55kg T: C J Waller $5.00 $2.00
8 Dashing Willoughby (2)J: Michael Walker 54.5kg T: Andrew Balding $26.00 $6.50
9 Finche (12)J: Damian Lane 54.5kg T: C J Waller $12.00 $3.80
10 Prince Of Arran (19)J: Jamie Kah 54.5kg T: Charlie Fellowes $18.00 $5.50
11 Master Of Wine (7)J: Craig Williams 53.5kg T: M, W & J Hawkes $7.50 $2.60
12 The Chosen One (3)J: Daniel Stackhouse 53.5kg T: M Baker & A Forsman $81.00 $19.00
13 Warning (20)J: Luke Currie 53kg T: A & S Freedman $26.00 $6.50
14 Dalasan (14)J: William Pike 52.5kg T: L Macdonald & A Gluyas $15.00 $4.50
15 True Self (4)J: Declan Bates 52kg T: W P Mullins $31.00 $8.00
16 Aktau (1)J: Daniel Moor 51kg T: M D Moroney $91.00 $21.00
17 Toffee Tongue (5)J: Michael Dee 51kg T: C J Waller $15.00 $4.50
18 Chapada (16)J: Jye Mcneil 50.5kg T: M D Moroney $21.00 $6.00
19 Raheen House (22)J: Daniel Moor 53.5kg T: K A Lees $201.00 $31.00
20 San Huberto (10)J: Fred W Kersley 53.5kg T: Matthew Cumani $81.00 $19.00
21 Oceanex (8)J: Zac Spain 51.5kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $126.00 $26.00
22 Le Don De Vie (13)J: Unknown 52.5kg T: A & S Freedman $61.00 $16.00


Caulfield Cup Results

1 Mer De Glace Hisashi Shimizu Damian Lane $8
2 Vow And Declare Danny O’Brien Craig Williams $8
3 Mirage Dancer Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Ben Melham $16
4 Constantinople David Hayes Luke Nolen $6.50
5 Finche Chris Waller Michael Walker $7.50
6 Mustajeer Kris Lees Damien Oliver $12
7 Hartnell James Cummings Brad Rawiller $26
8 Red Verdon Ed Dunlop Patrick Cosgrave $71
9 The Chosen One Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Stephen Baster $13
10 Sound Michael Moroney James Winks $101
11 Mr Quickie Phillip Stokes John Allen $8
12 Gold Mount Ian Williams Mark Du Plessis $26
13 Wolfe Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Beau Mertens $21
14 Brimham Rocks Chris Waller Michael Dee $31
15 Angel Of Truth Gwenda Markwell Dean Yendall $41
16 Rostropovich David Hayes Dwayne Dunn $31
17 Qafila David Hayes Cory Parish $41
18 Big Duke Kris Lees Brett Prebble $41


2019 – Mer De Glace (2:30.16)
2018 – Best Solution (2:33.72)
2017 – Boom Time (2:27.66)
2016 – Jameka (2:28.88)
2015 – Mongolian Khan (2:27.76)
2014 – Admire Rakti (2:32.12)
2013 – Fawkner (2:29.10)
2012 – Dunaden (2:28.82)
2011 – Southern Speed (2:28.44)
2010 – Descarado (2:35.69)