VRC Kennedy Oaks


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The VRC Kennedy Oaks is a 2500m Group 1 race for three-year-old fillies that is held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It has set weights and has a total prize pool of $1 million. It is widely regarded as the best Australian race for three-year-old fillies and in 2020 it will be held on Thursday, November 5.

The Danny O’Brien-trained Miami Bound won the 2019 VRC Kennedy Oaks in impressive fashion, dominating the field. Never Listen finished second, 3.25 lengths behind Miami Bound, and Moonlight Maid ran third, 5.25 lengths back. After the victory, Miami Bound did not race again in 2019.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Palestine won the first running of the VRC Kennedy Oaks, which was way back in 1861. Since then some great horses have won the race, including Rose Of Kingston, Research, Miss Finland and Jameka.

Over the last 20 years, no trainer has quite been able to establish a stranglehold on the race. In saying that, Ciaron Maher did manage to win it twice in a row in the 2010s, winning with Set Square in 2014 and then with Jameka in 2015.

The fastest race time the VRC Kennedy Oaks has seen over the last 21 years belongs to Tributes, who clocked 2:34.39 in 1999. Miami Bound, who won the 2019 edition of the race, ran 2:38.32 in her victory.

VRC Kennedy Oaks Field

The VRC Kennedy Oaks field has the best staying three-year-old fillies from Australia and abroad. Due to its prize pool and prestige, it normally has large fields of quality runners. Nominations and final acceptances will occur in the week leading up to the race.

2020 VRC Kennedy Oaks Field, Barriers and Odds

1Montefilia (5)J: Hugh Bowman 56kg T: David Payne$1.80$1.18
2Personal (10)J: Damien Oliver 56kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$6.00$1.90
3Cafe Rizu (14)J: Craig Newitt 56kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$26.00$5.00
4Succeed Indeed (13)J: Mark Zahra 56kg T: L & T Corstens$31.00$5.50
5Salto Angel (9)J: Damian Lane 56kg T: D T O’brien$26.00$5.00
6Miravalle (6)J: Craig Williams 56kg T: Mark Newnham$7.00$2.10
7Tyche Goddess (3)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 56kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$17.00$3.80
8Biarchi (1)J: John Allen 56kg T: D R Jolly$51.00$7.50
9Star Of Eden (2)J: Billy Egan 56kg T: M D Moroney$21.00$4.20
10Art Glass (12)J: William Pike 56kg T: G M Begg$126.00$21.00
11Vilanculos (7)J: Jamie Kah 56kg T: D T O’brien$31.00$5.50
12Hard Squeeze (8)J: Dean Yendall 56kg T: R Griffiths & M De Kock$71.00$10.00
13Yatton (4)J: Jye Mcneil 56kg T: M D Moroney$51.00$7.50
14Swindon Lass (11)J: Brian Higgins 56kg T: Matthew Brown$151.00$26.00


VRC Kennedy Oaks Betting

Due to the size and quality of the field, the VRC Kennedy Oaks can be a difficult race to find a winner in. However, recently, punters have had great success in the race. Four of the last five winners have had starting prices of $5.50 or less, with the one outlier being 2016 winner Lasqueti Spirit who won with a starting price of $101.

VRC Kennedy Oaks Results

1Miami BoundDanny O’BrienDamien Oliver$4.20
2Never ListenJohn RamsayDarryl McLellan$41
3Moonlight MaidMitchell FreedmanBen Melham$4.80
4Beauty BoltGrahame BeggJames McDonald$16
5GamayArchie AlexanderRyan Moore$3.80
6Vegas JewelMark KavanaghJordan Childs$5
7PresentlyKen KeysDwayne Dunn$201
8Stick ‘Em UpJohn SargentTommy Berry$31
9Silent SovereignTony & Calvin McEvoyJamie Kah$41
10Song BrocadeJohn SadlerJye McNeil$201
11Amazing PeacePaul PerryNash Rawiller$18
12FoxboroughJohn SargentTim Clark$51
13Ocean MissDavid & Coral FeekMichael Walker$61
14Victory ApproachMichelle PayneMs Michelle Payne$101


2019 – Miami Bound (2:38.32)
2018 – Aristia (2:40.54)
2017 – Pinot (2:37.25)
2016 – Lasqueti Spirit (2:37.73)
2015 – Jameka (2:43.34)
2014 – Set Square (2:39.33)
2013 – Kirramosa (2:40.64)
2012 – Dear Demi (2:35.88)
2011 – Mosheen (2:39.39)
2010 – Brazilian Pulse (2:41.64)