Golden Rose

Group 1

  • row1
    Date: Sep 26, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Rosehill
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $1,000,000


Hawkes colts fight out Golden Rose finish

Rosehill 4 3 19580323 2031414 20200926170940c4a8bb0f f128 44f8 aeb6

Two superbly bred Hawkes Racing colts have fought out the finish of the Group One Golden Rose as Rothfire's Everest campaign came under a cloud. The Queensland flyer, who started an odds-on favourite, punctured late t... Continue Reading

Rising star Russian Camelot earns praise Pippie leads throughout to win Moir Stakes September 26: 9 Must Watch Horses on Underwood Stakes Day Weight right for Boomsara in Weetwood Mark Zahra Picks Up Verry Elleegant Caulfield Cup Ride Read more Horse Racing news

The Golden Rose is a Group 1 1400m race held at Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney. The $1 million race is run under set weight conditions, and in 2020 will be held on Saturday, September 26.

Bivouac won the 2019 Golden Rose, with Hugh Bowman guiding the colt home. Just like they did in the Run To The Rose, Yes Yes Yes and Exceedance made up the placings in what was a relatively small field. Bivouac went on to finish mid-field in the Manikato Stakes and runner-up in the Coolmore Stud Stakes later in the spring.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race was first run as the Peter Pan Stakes back in 1978, taking its name from two-time Melbourne Cup winner Peter Pan. In 2003 it was renamed the Golden Rose and also changed to a 1400m trip.

A number of great horses have won the Golden Rose, which should be no surprise considering the prize money on offer. Kingstown Town won in 1979, while Zoustar was successful in 2013. More recently the likes of Trapeze Artist and The Autumn Sun have seen success in the Golden Rose. To the surprise of many, no horse has won the race in consecutive years.

Bivouac raced home in 1:21.88 to win the 2019 edition of the Golden Rose, which is one of the faster times since the race changed to 1400m. Both Toorak Toff (1:21.90) and Exosphere (1:21.83) have also clocked sub-1:22.00.

Golden Rose Field

The Golden Rose is a $1 million Group 1 race so the field is normally very strong. It also is early in the spring so is often used as a lead-up race for other of the slightly more prestigious Group 1s. Nominations for this year’s Golden Rose close on September 21 and final acceptances are on September 23.

2020 Golden Rose Field

Horse Win Place
1 Rothfire (8)J: Jim Byrne 56.5kg T: R L Heathcote $1.90 $1.16
2 King’s Legacy (9)J: Hugh Bowman 56.5kg T: P & P Snowden $15.00 $3.30
3 Mamaragan (1)J: Nash Rawiller 56.5kg T: John Thompson $14.00 $3.10
4 Ole Kirk (3)J: Tommy Berry 56.5kg T: M, W & J Hawkes $8.50 $2.20
5 North Pacific (6)J: James Mcdonald 56.5kg T: M, W & J Hawkes $5.50 $1.60
6 Global Quest (4)J: Brenton Avdulla 56.5kg T: C J Waller $21.00 $4.00
7 Peltzer (2)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 56.5kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou $8.00 $2.15
8 Sauvestre (5)J: Glen Boss 56.5kg T: C J Waller $61.00 $8.00
9 Yardstick (7)J: Tim Clark 56.5kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott $51.00 $7.00


Golden Rose Betting

Recent years have shown that the Golden Rose has been kind to punters. Bivouac was the favourite in 2019, saluting with a starting price of $2.50. In fact, four of the last five winners of Golden Rose have had starting prices below $5. The outlier was Trapeze Artist in 2017, who had a starting price of $41.

Golden Rose Result

1 Bivouac James Cummings Hugh Bowman $2.50
2 Yes Yes Yes Chris Waller Nash Rawiller $4.20
3 Exeedance Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry $4.80
4 Yao Dash Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Adam Hyeronimus $9.50
5 Kubrick Chris Waller James McDonald $15
6 Dawn Passage Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Tim Clark $41
7 Castelvecchio Richard Litt Joshua Parr $10
8 Prince Fawaz Anthony Cummings Kerrin McEvoy $61


2019 – Bivouac (1:21.88)
2018 – The Autumn Sun (1:22.24)
2017 – Trapeze Artist (1:22.41)
2016 – Astern (1:23.91)
2015 – Exosphere (1:21.83)
2014 – Hallowed Crown (1:24.00)
2013 – Zoustar (1:22.51)
2012 – Epaulette (1:22.30)
2011 – Manawanui (1:23.32)
2010 – Toorak Toff (1:21.90)