Flight Stakes


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Flight Stakes is a $500,000 Group 1 race for three-year-old fillies that takes place at Randwick Racecourse. It is raced over 1600m and has set weights. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, October 3, which is the same day as the Epsom Handicap and The Metropolitan.

James McDonald guided Funstar to victory in the 2019 edition of the Flight Stakes, with Probabeel and Foxborough finishing second and third in a small field. Funstar took no further part in the spring, but in 2020 placed in both the Surround Stakes and Coolmore Legacy. Interestingly, Funstar was beaten Probabeel in the Surround Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Nizam’s Ring won the very first running of the Flight Stakes, which was way back in 1947. The race takes its name from legendary mare Flight, who won back-to-back Cox Plates, claiming victory in 1945 and 1946. 

Some great horses have won the Flight Stakes over the life of the race. Wenona Girl crossed the line first in 1960, while Research proved too strong in 1988. In 1998, two-time Cox Plate winner Sunline won the Flight Stakes, while More Joyous was victorious in 2009.


Jockey Tim Clark has experienced great success in the race over recent years. He won aboard Ooohood in 2018 and achieved the same feat whilst riding Global Glamour two years prior.

The fastest time in the Flight Stakes over the last 20 runnings in the race belongs to Danglissa, who managed a 1:34.41 in 1999. The race was not held in 2007 due to the outbreak of equine influenza. Funstar clocked 1:37.31 to win the race in 2019.

Flight Stakes Field

Many of those who race in either the Furious Stakes or Tea Rose Stakes compete in the Flight Stakes. Over the last five years the number of runners in the race has been relatively inconsistent and sadly last year there were only six runners. Nominations close on September 28 and final acceptances are on September 30.

2020 Flight Stakes Field, Barriers, and Odds

1Dame Giselle (1)J: Tommy Berry 56kg T: P & P Snowden$2.60$1.40
2Hungry Heart (4)J: James Mcdonald 56kg T: C J Waller$2.50$1.40
3Vangelic (3)J: Tim Clark 56kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott$11.00$4.20
4Montefilia (6)J: Hugh Bowman 56kg T: David Payne$8.00$3.30
5Joviality (5)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 56kg T: C J Waller$12.00$4.60
6Miravalle (7)J: Joshua Parr 56kg T: Mark Newnham$12.00$4.60
7Alighted (2)J: Regan Bayliss 56kg T: A J Cummings$201.00$61.00


Flight Stakes Betting

In recent years, punters have enjoyed the Flight Stakes. Three of the last five winners have been favourites and the other two runners both had starting prices below $15.

Flight Stakes Results

1FunstarChris WallerJames McDonald$1.75
2ProbabeelJamie RichardsKerrin McEvoy$2.40
3FoxboroughJohn SargentJay Ford$31
4St Covet’s SpiritJason CoyleJason Collett$26
5Our Girl SnitiRon QuintonAndrew Adkins$51
6Girls Are ReadyJoe ClearyMs Jess Taylor$31


2020 – Montefilia (1:33.04)
2019 – Funstar (1:37.31)
2018 – Oohood (1:34.74)
2017 – Alizee (1:34.83)
2016 – Global Glamour (1:34.73)
2015 – Speak Fondly (1:35.91)
2014 – First Seal (1:34.71)
2013 – Guelph (1:36.23)
2012 – Norzita (1:36.01)
2011 – Streama (1:36.70)
2010 – Secret Admirer (1:34.66)