Twilight Glow Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Nov 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Sandown
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000


Sprint stars to return in Black Caviar


Chris Waller's two star sprinters Nature Strip and September Run will both resume in the Black Caviar Lightning at Flemington next month.Waller said they had both come through their trial at Rosehill last Friday in g... Continue Reading

Fabergino ready to fly fresh at Flemington Fake Love scratched from Magic Millions Millions runners require vet clearance Tycoon's Millions bid takes hit with draw An array of stars nominate for All-Star Read more Horse Racing news

The Twilight Glow Stakes is a 1400m Listed race for three-year-old fillies that is held at Sandown Racecourse. It has set weights plus penalties and a total prize pool of $140,000. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, November 14, the same day as the Zipping Classic.

The 2019 Twilight Glow Stakes was won by Xilong, with Palurien and Excelida running second and third respectively. The Mathew Ellerton and Simon Zahra-trained Oasis Girl rounded out the first four. Xilong didn’t run again in 2019, however, in 2020 she placed in the Group 1 Surround Stakes and won the Group 2 TAB Euclase Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

No trainer or jockey has quite been able to establish consistent success in the Twilight Glow Stakes, although Gai Waterhouse did win it in consecutive years in the 2000s. The first of those victories was with Bumptious in 2002 and the next year, Magsaya saluted for the stable.

The fastest race time the Twilight Glow Stakes has seen over the last 20 years belongs to Harpy, who clocked 1:22.30 in 2000. 2019 winner Xilong ran over a second slower with 1:23.51, and the Sandown 1400m track record stands at 1:21.99, which Smokin’ Joey recorded in 2012.


2019 – Xilong (1:23.51)
2018 – Persuader (1:23.43)
2017 – Raphie’s Choice (1:23.72)
2016 – Prompt Response (1:24.98)
2015 – Indarra (1:23.29)
2014 – Wawail (1:24.37)
2013 – Mezeray Miss (1:24.54)
2012 – Meidung (1:24.23)
2011 – Secret Liaison (1:28.37)
2010 – Zelsnitz (1:26.68)