The Sofitel


  • row1
    Date: Sep 12, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000

The Sofitel is a Listed 1400m race for horses aged four and older that is held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. The handicap race has a total prize pool of $140,000 and in 2020 will be held on Saturday, September 12, the same day as the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes.

Rox The Castle won the 2019 edition of The Sofitel, with Travimyfriend and Romancer finishing second and third respectively. From there, Rox The Castle went on to win the Listed Weekend Hustler Stakes on Caulfield Guineas Day.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Sofitel, also known as the Tontonan Stakes, was first run in 2011, with the Robert Hickmott-trained Niblick claiming victory. The trainer replicated the feat a year later with Fawkner, however, hasn’t been able to do it again since.

Jockey Craig Williams has had great success in The Sofitel in recent years, winning three of the last four editions of the race. The year he missed out, he still managed to secure a place, finishing third with Eclair Calling.

In 2019, Rox The Castle managed to record a time of 1:22.83 to win The Sofitel. Although it was a decent time, it wasn’t the fastest the race has seen over the years. That honour belongs to Theanswermyfriend who clocked 1:22.62 in 2017.


2019 – Rox The Castle (1:22.83)
2018 – Violate (1:22.74)
2017 – Theanswermyfriend (1:22.62)
2016 – Bon Aurum (1:23.42)
2015 – Disposition (1:22.73)
2014 – Late Charge (1:22.69)
2013 – Shoreham (1:24.07)
2012 – Fawkner (1:22.80)
2011 – Niblick (1:23.89)