Testa Rossa Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Sep 26, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000

The Testa Rossa Stakes is a 1200m Listed race held at Caulfield Racecourse. The handicap race has a prize pool of $140,000 and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, September 26. That is the same day as the Group 1 Underwood Stakes.

Dwayne Dunn won the 2019 edition of the Testa Rossa Stakes on board Renewal. Zoustyle finished second and Haunted placed third, meanwhile Parsifal rounded out the first four. Renewal went on to finish third in the Listed Weekend Hussler Stakes, while Zoustyle only took part in one more race in the spring, finishing fourth in the Listed Caulfield Village Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first Testa Rossa Stakes was run in 2009, with the Mick Price-trained galloper Rightfully Yours claiming victory. In recent years, jockey Dwayne Dunn has had reasonable success in the race, winning twice in the last four years.

The race takes its name from legendary horse Testa Rossa. He won multiple Group 1s including the Futurity Stakes and Emirates Stakes.

Renewal ran 1:09.30 over the Caulfield 1200m to win the Testa Rossa Stakes in 2019 but the fastest time in the history of the race belongs to Amaethon. Trained by Mathew Ellerton and Simon Zahra, Amaethon clocked 1:08.27 to win the 2011 edition of the race.

Testa Rossa Stakes Field

1Order Of Command (7)J: Jamie Kah 62kg T: D T O’brien$6.50$2.00
2Brave Song (6)J: Damian Lane 59kg T: P & P Snowden$13.00$3.20
3Runson (3)J: John Allen 57.5kg T: L & T Corstens$7.50$2.15
4Coruscate (1)J: Damien Oliver 56.5kg T: James Cummings$10.00$2.50
5Bravo Tango (5)J: Billy Egan 56kg T: Mitchell Freedman$18.00$3.90
6Brooklyn Hustle (2)J: Ben Melham 56kg T: J Warren & D Krongold$3.60$1.35
7Alfa Oro (4)J: Ben Melham 56kg T: M M Laurie$2.60$1.28
8Street Icon (8)J: Craig Williams 56kg T: K L Corstens$17.00$3.70



2019 – Renewal
2018 – Trekking
2017 – Bons Away
2016 – Keen Array
2015 – Fell Swoop
2014 – Target In Sight
2013 – It Is Written
2012 – Miss Marx
2011 – Amethon
2010 – Avenue