Debutant Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Oct 10, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $175,000


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Debutant Stakes is a Listed 1000m sprint worth $175,000 that is held at Caulfield Racecourse. The race is for two-year-olds, is run with set weights and in 2020 will be held on Saturday, October 10.

Tanker won the 2019 edition of the Debutant Stakes for the Ciaron Maher and David Eustace stable, with Euphoric Summer and Queen Of Rocks making up the placings. In 2020, Tanker raced in its first Group 1, finishing toward the back of the field in the Blue Diamond Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

David Hayes has had incredible success in the Debutant Stakes in recent times, winning the race five times over the last 10 years. In that stretch were horses such as Qafila and Wait For No One.

No jockey has quite been able to replicate that success, however, Stephen Baster has won twice in the last six years. He was on board Wait For No One in 2016 and Of The Brave in 2014.

In 2019, Tanker recorded a time of 0:58.13 to win the Debutant Stakes. The fastest 1000m time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Villa Verde, who in 2012 clocked 0:57.23.


2019 – Tanker (0:58.13)
2018 – Champagne Boom (0:58.32)
2017 – Qafila (0:58.30)
2016 – Wait For No One (0:57.50)
2015 – Missrock (0:58.21)
2014 – Of The Brave (0:57.78)
2013 – Moonlight Hussler (0:59.15)
2012 – Villa Verde (0:57.23)
2011 – Jimando (0:57.78)
2010 – Eramor (0:59.70)