Cranbourne Cup


  • row1
    Date: Oct 11, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Cranbourne
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,025m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $400,000


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The Cranbourne Cup is a $400,000 Listed race held at Cranbourne Racecourse in Victoria. The handicap race is run over 2025m and in 2020 will held on Sunday, October 11 2020.

Craig Williams rode Dr Drill to victory in the 2019 edition of the Cranbourne Cup, with Naivasha and Captain Cook finished second and third respectively. Dr Drill then went on to race in the 2000m Ballarat Cup, however, he missed the placings.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Trainer Mick Price has had great success in the Cranbourne Cup in recent years, winning the race twice over its last six runnings. No jockey has quite been able to replicate that success of late, however, Craig Newitt has claimed victory twice in the last eight editions of the race.

Nominations for the 2020 Cranbourne Cup close on October 6, while final acceptances are two days later on October 8.

In 2019, Dr Drill won the race in 2:05.08 but the fastest Cranbourne Cup time in the last 21 years belongs to Figurehead. The Kay Lane-trained runner clocked 2:02.49 in 1999 to win the Cranbourne Cup.


2019 – Dr Drill (2:05.08)
2018 – Octabello (2:06.04)
2017 – Folkswood (2:03.92)
2015 – Digitalism (2:08.62)
2014 – Mourinho (2:06.47)
2013 – Pakal (2:06.30)
2012 – Midnight Martini (2:06.80)
2011 – Boom ‘n’ Zoom (2:06.67)
2010 – Starmon (2:06.89)