Chandler Macleod Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Sep 5, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000


Track Manager Spills the Beans on How The Valley Track Will Play!

20191026001428884639 original

The Valley is home to 18 races in 24 hours, with the track pattern largely a mystery with the predicted rain to come on Friday evening and throughout the day on Saturday. The track is currently rated a Good 4, but the... Continue Reading

James McDonald Ready for Cox Plate with ‘Airborne’ Ride Mare can complete McEvoy's grand slam set 2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Read more Horse Racing news

The Chandler Macleod Stakes is a 1200m handicap race held each year at Moonee Valley racecourse in Victoria.

In 2020, the Chandler Macleod Stakes will be run on Saturday, September 5, which is the same day as both the Feehan Stakes and McEwen Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The prize pool for the Chandler Macleod Stakes is $140,000, and in 2019 the race was won by The Inevitable, who edged out Deprive and Spirit of Valor and paid $3.10 for punters. The Inevitable has since competed in some big races, including the Golden Eagle, Newmarket Handicap and the Goodwood.

The Chandler Macleod Stakes has been won by some notable horses in the past, including Voodoo Lad and Brave Smash. Voodoo Lad, who won the race in 2016, amassed almost $2 million in prize money and won the 2018 Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes. Brave Smash was also a star of the turf, winning almost $3 million in prize money and claiming victory in two Group 1 races.

No horse has won the Chandler Macleod Stakes more than once but controversial trainer Darren Weir did take victory three years in a row (2016-2018) with three different horses.

2019 winner, The Inevitable, claimed victory in 1:10.53, however narrowly missed out on the race record which is held by Sea Lord. In the very first running of the Chandler Macleod Stakes in 2012, Sea Lord clocked 1:10.42 over the 1200m at Moonee Valley, which remains the record time for the race. Atlante went very close in 2014 with a time of 1:10.45, but couldn’t quite take the crown.


2019 – The Inevitable (1:10.53)
2018 – Land of Plenty (1:10.66)
2017 – Brave Smash (1:11.50)
2016 – Voodoo Lad (1:11.21)
2015 – Fell Swoop (1:12.18)
2014 – Atlante (1:10.45)
2013 – Le Bonsir (1:10.80)
2012 – Sea Lord (1:10.42)