The Bart Cummings

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,500m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $300,000

The Bart Cummings is a Group 3 2500m race held at Flemington Racecourse. It has a prize pool of $300,000 and is raced under quality handicap conditions. In 2020, the Bart Cummings will be held on Saturday, October 3, the same day as the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes.

The 2019 edition of the Bart Cummings was won by Paul Preusker’s Surprise Baby. Supernova placed second, while Wolfe and Ventura Storm finished third and fourth respectively. After winning the Bart Cummings and receiving a ballot-exemption, Surprise Baby went on to compete in the Melbourne Cup, running a decent race to finish fifth.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Bart Cummings was first run in 2000 but became a listed event in 2007. That year Dolphin Jo claimed victory. A number of great horses have since won the race, including Who Shot Thebarman, Almandin and Avilius. In fact, the year Almandin claimed victory in the Bart Cummings he also won the Melbourne Cup.

The race obviously takes its name from the legendary trainer Bart Cummings. He won the Melbourne Cup a record 12 times, hence why the winner of the race receives a ballot-exemption for the great race.

Surprise Baby ran the Flemington 2520m in 2:38.66 to win the Bart Cummings in 2019, however, the fastest 2500m time in the race since it became listed belongs to Avilius. The gelding managed a 2:35.43 in 2018.

2020 The Bart Cummings Field, Barriers, and Odds

1Young Rascal (5)J: John Allen 60.5kg T: Archie Alexander$34.00$8.50
2Shared Ambition (9)J: Craig Williams 58.5kg T: C J Waller$6.00$2.25
3Haky (6)J: Declan Bates 58kg T: Archie Alexander$61.00$16.00
4Steel Prince (20)J: Mark Zahra 58kg T: A & S Freedman$6.00$2.25
5Lord Belvedere (2)J: Ben Melham 57.5kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$6.00$2.25
6Sound (3)J: Jamie Kah 57.5kg T: M D Moroney$17.00$5.00
7Carif (18)57kg T: P & P Snowden$0.00$0.00
8Creedence (7)J: Michael Poy 56kg T: Matthew Cumani$14.00$4.20
9Paths Of Glory (13)J: Craig Newitt 55.5kg T: R & M Freedman$34.00$8.50
10In Good Health (14)J: Luke Nolen 55kg T: P G Moody$26.00$7.00
11Admire Robson (4)J: Brett Prebble 55kg T: P A Preusker$34.00$8.50
12Schabau (10)J: William Pike 55kg T: Robert Hickmott$5.00$2.00
13Dabiyr (11)J: Michael Walker 55kg T: C J Waller$20.00$6.00
14Game Keeper (17)J: Luke Currie 55kg T: T & C Mcevoy$15.00$4.50
15Persan (1)J: Jye Mcneil 55kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$8.50$2.90
16Polly Grey (15)J: Damian Lane 55kg T: C J Waller$34.00$8.50
17South Pacific (8)J: Michael Dee 55kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$34.00$8.50
18Kinane (19)J: Damien Oliver 55kg T: C J Waller$21.00$6.00
19Good Idea (16)J: Unknown 55kg T: P Stokes$51.00$13.00
20Super Girl (21)J: Unknown 55kg T: Joshua Julius$91.00$26.00
21Roland Garros (12)J: Unknown 55kg T: Adrian Corboy$201.00$41.00



2019 – Surprise Baby (2:38.66) (2520m)
2018 – Avilius (2:35.43)
2017 – Amelie’s Star (2:37.69)
2016 – Almandin (2:37.47)
2015 – Let’s Make Adeal (2:35.66) (2520m)
2014 – Who Shot Thebarman (2:39.62) (2520m)
2013 – Araldo (2:38.23) (2520m)
2012 – Tanby (2:36.69) (2520m)
2011 – Mourayan (2:40.78)
2010 – Harris Tweed (2:40.32)