Coongy Cup

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds

Caulfield 4 3 19564607 2031079 2020092413092090d44292 500f 4f9a 882f 24a836a7b37d 1.jpg sd 800x600 1

The fourth and final Group 1 at Flemington on a stacked Derby Day is the 2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes (1600m), attracting a capacity field of 16 plus four emergencies. Favourite Mr Quickie has drawn out in barrier 16, ... Continue Reading

2020 Coolmore Stud Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds 2020 Empire Rose Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds Vandyke: ‘Question Marks’ on Alligator Blood in Golden Eagle O'Brien ready for the unorthodox in Derby Santa Ana Lane Skipping Yes Yes Yes Stakes for VRC Sprint Classic Read more Horse Racing news

The Coongy Cup is a Group 3 2000m race held at Caulfield Racecourse in Victoria. The open handicap is for horses aged three and older and has a $200,000 prize pool. In 2020, the Coongy Cup will be run on Wednesday, October 14, the same day as the Blue Sapphire Stakes and Ladies’ Day Vase Stakes.

Wolfe won the 2019 edition of the Coongy Cup, beating the likes of Top Of The Range and Kiwia. The winner of the race is exempt from the Caulfield Cup ballot, however, Wolfe went on to finish 13th out of 18 runners in the Group 1.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Coongy Cup was first run in 1898 as the Coongy Handicap, with Hymettus claiming victory. Some notable horses have since won the race, including La Mer, Rose Of Kingston and Stratum Star.

Some of Australia’s top trainers have had decent success in the race, with both Chris Waller and Gai Waterhouse winning the Coongy Cup twice in the last 10 years. Disgraced trainer Darren Weir had the same level of success.

In 2019, Wolfe clocked 2:02.73 to claim victory in the Coongy Cup. It was a decent time but the fastest of the last 20 years belongs to the Activation. In 2005, the Graeme Rogerson-trained runner ran 2:00.65 to claim victory


2019 – Wolfe (2:02.73)
2018 – Best Of Days/Mask Of Time (2:07.07)
2017 – Kiwia (2:02.99)
2016 – Vanbrugh (2:02.17)
2015 – Stratum Star (2:02.13)
2014 – Contributer (2:05.25)
2013 – Spurtonic (2:03.11)
2012 – Lightinthenite (2:04.26)
2011 – Foreteller (2:03.11)
2010 – Ginga Dude (2:06.68)