Colin Stephen Quality

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Sep 26, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Rosehill
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $160,000


Track Manager Spills the Beans on How The Valley Track Will Play!

20191026001428884639 original

The Valley is home to 18 races in 24 hours, with the track pattern largely a mystery with the predicted rain to come on Friday evening and throughout the day on Saturday. The track is currently rated a Good 4, but the... Continue Reading

James McDonald Ready for Cox Plate with ‘Airborne’ Ride Mare can complete McEvoy's grand slam set 2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Read more Horse Racing news

The Colin Stephen Quality is a Group 3 2400m quality handicap race held at Rosehill Racecourse. It is for horses aged three and older and has a total prize pool of $160,000. In 2020 the race will be run on Saturday, September 26, the same day as the Group 1 Golden Rose.

Stampede, who races out of the Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott stable, won the 2019 edition of the Colin Stephen Quality, with Master Of Arts and Maurus finishing second and third respectively. After winning the race, Stampede went on to finish fourth in the Group 1 Metropolitan.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race takes its name from a former chairman of the Australian Jockey Club, Sir Colin Stephen, sadly, he passed away in 1937. Illumination won the first edition of the Colin Stephen Quality and since then a number of great horses have claimed victory, including Poitrel, Phar Lap, Beau Vite and Delta.

Gai Waterhouse has had great success in the race, winning five times in the last 20 years. That included a three-peat from 2000-2002.

In 2019, Stampede recorded a time of 2:29.87 to win the race, however, the fastest time over the last 20 years belongs to Exinite. In 2006 the Kris Lees-trained runner saluted in 2:28.80.

Colin Stephen Quality Field

Horse Win Place
1 Raheen House (6)J: Hugh Bowman 59kg T: K A Lees $6.50 $2.10
2 Carzoff (4)J: James Mcdonald 55kg T: C J Waller $4.00 $1.45
3 Grey Lion (5)J: Ms Kathy O’hara 54.5kg T: Matthew Smith $4.40 $1.55
4 Zacada (3)J: Glyn Schofield 54kg T: J & G Lee $31.00 $6.00
5 Attorney (1)J: Jason Collett 54kg T: Matthew Smith $6.50 $2.10
6 Exemplar (2)J: Tommy Berry 53.5kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $3.60 $1.40
7 Djukon (8)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 53kg T: C J Waller $13.00 $3.40
8 Lord Fandango (7)J: Jeff Penza 53kg T: J R Gask $26.00 $5.50


Colin Stephen Quality Winners

2019 – Stampede (2:29.87)
2018 – Miss Admiration (2:29.55)
2017 – Auvray (2:30.35)
2016 – Allergic (2:30.88)
2015 – Amelie’s Star (2:30.84)
2014 – Deane Martin (2:29.51)
2013 – Julienas (2:30.56)
2012 – Kelinni (2:30.48)
2011 – Lamasery (2:29.93)
2010 – No Wine No Song (2:30.45)