Begonia Belle Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Oct 31, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,100m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The Begonia Belle Stakes, also known as the Furphy Sprint, is a 1100m Group 3 race held at Flemington Racecourse. It is for mares aged four and older, run with set weights plus penalties and has a prize pool of $200,000. In 2020, the Begonia Belle Stakes will be run on Saturday, October 31.

Michael Moroney’s Tofane won 2019 Begonia Belle Stakes, beating Pippie and Miss Iano who finished second and third respectively. Tofane took no further part in the spring, however, in 2020 won the Group 1 All Aged Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The very first Begonia Belle Stakes was won by Covet Thee back in 2005. It didn’t become a Listed race until 2009 and it’s been classed as a Group 3 since 2013.

Some solid horses have won the race over the years, including Very Discreet and Ortensia. The latter finished her career as a two-time Winterbottom Stakes winner.

Tofane clocked 1:04.21 to win the Begonia Belle Stakes in 2019, however, it was a fair way off the best time the race has seen since it became Listed. In 2014 Damien Oliver rode Vain Queen to victory in an impressive 1:02.70.

2020 Begonia Belle Stakes Field, Barriers and Odds

1Exhilarates (5)J: Damien Oliver 57kg T: James Cummings$16.00$4.50
2Fiesta (13)J: Hugh Bowman 57kg T: C J Waller$8.00$2.70
3Diamond Effort (8)J: Ben Melham 57kg T: C W Mcdonald$4.20$1.80
4California Zimbol (11)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: P & P Snowden$5.50$2.15
5How Womantic (7)J: John Allen 57kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$14.00$4.00
6Sisstar (9)J: Michael Poy 57kg T: T & C Mcevoy$26.00$6.00
7Wayupinthesky (6)J: Luke Currie 56kg T: P & P Snowden$34.00$6.50
8Fituese (1)J: Craig Williams 56kg T: John Thompson$5.00$2.00
9Miss Iano (14)J: Brian Park 55kg T: Mark C Webb$91.00$21.00
10From Within (3)J: Daniel Moor 55kg T: D T O’brien$26.00$6.00
11Prophet’s Thumb (10)J: Damian Lane 55kg T: A & S Freedman$21.00$5.50
12Bless Her (2)J: Jye Mcneil 55kg T: Shea Eden$8.50$2.90
13Too Good Too Hard (4)J: Luke Nolen 55kg T: P Stokes$34.00$6.50
14Zaniah (12)J: James Mcdonald 55kg T: K A Lees$20.00$5.00



2019 – Tofane (1:04.21)
2018 – Divine Quality (1:02.82)
2017 – Lyuba (1:03.29)
2016 – Sheidel (1:02.98)
2015 – Pittsburgh Flyer (1:04.44)
2014 – Vain Queen (1:02.70)
2013 – Dystopia (1:03.75)
2012 – Honey Flower (1:03.23)
2011 – Ortensia (1:03.22)
2010 – Status Symbol (1:04.85)