Zipping Classic

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Nov 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Sandown
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $300,000


2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds

Caulfield 4 3 19564607 2031079 2020092413092090d44292 500f 4f9a 882f 24a836a7b37d 1.jpg sd 800x600 1

The fourth and final Group 1 at Flemington on a stacked Derby Day is the 2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes (1600m), attracting a capacity field of 16 plus four emergencies. Favourite Mr Quickie has drawn out in barrier 16, ... Continue Reading

2020 Coolmore Stud Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds 2020 Empire Rose Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds Vandyke: ‘Question Marks’ on Alligator Blood in Golden Eagle O'Brien ready for the unorthodox in Derby Santa Ana Lane Skipping Yes Yes Yes Stakes for VRC Sprint Classic Read more Horse Racing news

The Zipping Classic is a 2400m Group 2 weight-for-age race held at Sandown Racecourse in Victoria. It has a total prize pool of $300,000 and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, November 14, the same day as the Sandown Guineas.

Southern France won the 2019 edition of the Zipping Classic for the Maher and Eustace stable. Miss Siska finished second, with Chapada and Gallic Chieftain running third and fourth respectively. A number of other top runners finished further back in the field, including Humidor and Ventura Storm. Southern France did not race again in 2020.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Zipping Classic was in 1888, with Mara claiming victory. At that stage, it was known as the Williamstown Cup, and since then some of the greats have won the race. Prince Cortauld won in 1954, Light Fingers was victorious in 1966 and Americain crossed the line in first in 2011. However, the race is named after the most memorable of the winners, Zipping, who won it four straight times.

Robert Hickmott has had great success in the Zipping Classic over recent times, training the winner four times over a nine-year stretch. He won with Zipping twice before saluting with Tanby and The Taj Mahal.

Southern France clocked 2:32.01 to win the 2019 edition of the Zipping Classic, however, it was a long way off the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years. That time belongs to Hail, who ran a stunning 2:27.91 in 2002. 


2019 – Southern France (2:32.01)
2018 – The Taj Mahal (2:31.52)
2017 – The Taj Mahal (2:30.09)
2016 – Beautiful Romance (2:29.05)
2015 – Who Shot Thebarman (2:29.10)
2014 – Au Revoir (2:32.06)
2013 – Sertorius (2:30.97)
2012 – Tanby (2:32.01)
2011 – Americain (2:37.87)
2010 – Zipping (2:39.49)