Wakeful Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 31, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $300,000

The Wakeful Stakes is a $300,000 Group 2 race held at Flemington Racecourse in Victoria. It is raced over 2000m with set weight plus penalties and is for three-year-old fillies. In 2020, it will be run on Derby day, which is Saturday, October 31.

Miami Bound won the Wakeful Stakes in a thrilling showdown with Vegas Jewel. Remarkably, the rest of the field finished another six lengths behind those two. After winning the race, Miami Bound went on to claim victory in the $1 million Group 1 Kennedy Oaks.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race takes its name from superstar horse Wakeful. The mare was a champion in the early 1900s, winning a number of the top races, including the Newmarket Handicap and Caulfield Stakes. In 2002 she was inducted into the Australia Racing Hall of Fame.

Protea won the first edition of the Wakeful Stakes, which was way back in 1932. Since then the likes of Wenona Girl, Research and Atlantic Jewel have won the race.

Trainer John Sargent has had great success in the Wakeful Stakes in recent times, winning the race three times between 2013 and 2017. His winners were Kirramosa, Thunder lady and Luvaluva.

In 2019, Miami Bound clocked 2:04.48 to win the Wakeful Stakes, which was a decent time but not the quickest the race has seen over the last 20 years. That honour belongs to Quays, who ran 2:01.20 back in 2001.

2020 Wakeful Stakes Field, Barriers, and Odds

1Personal (8)J: Damien Oliver 55kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$3.40$1.45
2Starelle (6)J: James Mcdonald 55kg T: D T O’brien$8.50$2.70
3Succeed Indeed (4)J: Mark Zahra 55kg T: L & T Corstens$14.00$3.80
4Agreeable (1)J: Jye Mcneil 55kg T: A & S Freedman$6.00$2.20
5Silhouette (3)J: John Allen 55kg T: James Cummings$18.00$4.80
6Salto Angel (14)J: Damian Lane 55kg T: D T O’brien$13.00$3.70
7Pensato (5)J: William Pike 55kg T: James Cummings$14.00$3.80
8Miravalle (13)J: Craig Williams 55kg T: Mark Newnham$8.00$2.50
9Victoria Quay (11)J: Jamie Kah 55kg T: T & C Mcevoy$5.50$2.10
10Tyche Goddess (9)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 55kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$51.00$9.00
11Lady Devereaux (12)J: Jordan Childs 55kg T: C W Mcdonald$81.00$17.00
12Blazing Lace (2)J: Michael Poy 55kg T: Dan O’sullivan$201.00$31.00
13Proud Mary (7)J: Daniel Stackhouse 55kg T: M D Moroney$201.00$31.00
14Mrs Murphy (10)J: Jake Noonan 55kg T: Paul Rocke$201.00$31.00



2019 – Miami Bound (2:04.48)
2018 – Aristia (2:01.36)
2017 – Luvaluva (2:03.99)
2016 – Tiamo Grace (2:04.44)
2015 – Ambience (2:04.78)
2014 – Thunder Lady (2:03.38)
2013 – Kirramosa (2:05.15)
2012 – Zydeco (2:02.80)
2011 – Atlantic Jewel (2:04.98)
2010 – Brazilian Pulse (2:04.27)