Tristarc Stakes

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 17, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $300,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Tristarc Stakes is a 1400m Group 2 race held at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne. It’s for mares aged four and older and is run with set weights plus penalties. In 2020 the race has a prize pool of $300,000 and will run on Saturday, October 17.

The James Cummings-trained Savatiano won the 2019 edition of the Tristarc Stakes, with Angelic Ruler and Spanish Whisper finishing second and third respectively. After winning the race, Savatiano went on to run in the Group 1 Empire Rose Stakes, finishing toward the back of the field and then won the $1 million Hunter.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race was first run as the Tristarc Quality back in 1987, where Canny Lass claimed victory. Since then some great horses have won, including Typhoon Tracy, More Joyous and Sweet Idea.

Tristarc was a superstar mare that won numerous Group 1s. Her victories included the Underwood Stakes, Caulfield Stakes and Caulfield Cup.

Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott have had great success in the Tristarc Stakes over recent times, winning it twice over the last three years. Their victories came through Global Glamour and Shumookh.

2019 winner Savatiano clocked 1:24.23 to win the race over Angelic Ruler and Spanish Whisper. However, the fastest time in the Tristarc Stakes over the last 20 years belongs to Infinite Grace, who ran 1:22.19 in 2005.

2020 Tristarc Stakes Field

Horse Win Place
1 Pretty Brazen (8)J: Luke Currie 58kg T: T & C Mcevoy $4.60 $1.70
2 Madam Rouge (4)J: Ben Melham 57kg T: C J Waller $5.50 $1.95
3 Perfect Jewel (3)J: William Pike 57kg T: G & A Williams $3.90 $1.50
4 Felicia (7)J: Craig Williams 57kg T: D Binaisse $3.90 $1.50
5 Into The Abyss (6)J: Damian Lane 55kg T: John Thompson $34.00 $6.00
6 She Shao Fly (5)J: Jamie Kah 55kg T: K L Corstens $6.00 $2.10
7 Benitoite (1)J: Billy Egan 55kg T: C W Mcdonald $26.00 $5.50
8 The Closer (9)J: John Allen 55kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $26.00 $5.50
9 Rich Hips (2)J: Michael Dee 55kg T: T Busuttin & N Young $14.00 $3.70



2019 – Savatiano (1:24.23)
2018 – Shumookh (1:25.68)
2017 – Global Glamour (1:23.80)
2016 – First Seal (1:25.14)
2015 – La Passe (1:23.77)
2014 – Sweet Idea (1:25.42)
2013 – Red Tracer (1:23.16)
2012 – Streama (1:24.76)
2011 – More Joyous (1:22.89)
2010 – Culminate (1:26.51)