The Shorts

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 19, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,100m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $500,000

The Shorts is a 1100m Group 2 race held at Randwick Racecourse. It is for horses aged three years and older and has set weights. The prize pool for The Shorts is $500,000 and in 2020 it will be run on Saturday, September 19, the same day as the George Main Stakes.

In 2019, The Shorts was won by the Gregory Hickman-trained Pierata. Classique Legend and two-time Everest winner Redzel finished second and third in what ended up being a relatively small field. From The Shorts, Pierata went on to compete in The Everest, finishing mid-field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Gunilda was the winner of the first edition of The Shorts, crossing the line first back in 1867. It is regularly used as a lead-up race to some of the big Group 1s in the spring carnival, so a number of great horses have won the race. Redzel won the race back in 2017 before winning the very first Everest.

There have been multiple horses who have won The Shorts in consecutive years. They include Gigandra (‘14 & ‘15), Calmest (‘26 & ‘27) and King’s Favourite (‘76 & ‘77).

Pierata clocked 1:03.93 in 2019 to win The Shorts, however it wasn’t the fastest 1100m running of the race in the last 20 years. That honour belongs to the champion sprinter Redzel, who in 2017 ran 1:01.83. It’s less than half a second behind the Randwick 1100m course record, which belongs to Prophet’s Thumb (1:01.67).


The Shorts 2020 Field:

1Bivouac (12)J: Hugh Bowman 58kg T: James Cummings$3.70$1.50
2Catalyst (1)J: Glen Boss 58kg T: C M Chipperfield$6.50$2.30
3Classique Legend (10)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 57kg T: L J Bridge$4.50$1.75
4Ball Of Muscle (8)J: Glyn Schofield 57kg T: Joseph Pride$41.00$7.50
5Eduardo (9)J: Nash Rawiller 57kg T: Joseph Pride$6.00$2.20
6Splintex (11)J: Joshua Parr 57kg T: Mark Newnham$26.00$5.50
7Standout (4)J: James Mcdonald 57kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou$8.50$2.60
8Greyworm (6)J: Brenton Avdulla 56kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$13.00$3.70
9Tactical Advantage (2)J: Jason Collett 55kg T: K A Lees$41.00$7.50
10Dirty Work (5)J: Tommy Berry 55kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$7.00$2.35
11Irish Songs (7)J: Sam Clipperton 55kg T: Kurt Goldman$201.00$31.00
12Prairie Fire (3)J: Ms Rachel King 55kg T: D A Williams$201.00$31.00



2019 – Pierata (1:03.93)
2018 – Ball of Muscle (1:02.87)
2017 – Redzel (1:01.83)
2016 – Takedown (1:03.25)
2015 – Rebel Dane (1:04.67)
2014 – Terravista (1:02.48)
2013 – Sessions (1:03.26)
2012 – Pampelonne (1:09.64) (1200m)
2011 – Love Conquers All (1:08.71) (1200m)
2010 – Hot Danish (1:09.51) (1200m)