Moonee Valley Cup

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 24, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,500m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $500,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Moonee Valley Cup is a 2500m Group 2 race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Victoria. The $500,000 race will be run on Saturday, October 24, the same day as the Cox Plate.

Hunting Horn saluted in the 2019 Moonee Valley Cup, with Mr Quickie and Downdraft finishing second and third, both over a length behind the winner. After the victory, Hunting Horn went on to race in the Melbourne Cup, finishing mid-field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Moonee Valley Cup has a rich history and was first run back in 1883, with Castaway claiming victory. Since then some notable runners have won the race, including Melbourne Cup-winners Kingston Rule, American and Prinze Of Penzance.

In 1883, the Moonee Valley Cup was classed as a Principal Race, however, from 1980 onwards it has been regarded as a Group 2.

Like most Listed and Group race in the country, Chris Waller has had great success in the Moonee Valley Cup of late. He has won twice in the last four years, first with Grand Marshal and then with Who Shot Thebarman.

Aidan O’Brien’s Hunting Horn ran 2:39.48 to win the 2019 edition of the Moonee Valley Cup. However, the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Ventura Storm, who in 2018 clocked 2:34.37.

2020 Moonee Valley Cup Field & Odds

Horse Win Place
1 Gallic Chieftain (13)J: Damian Lane 57kg T: Archie Alexander $13.00 $3.80
2 Hush Writer (6)J: Craig Williams 56.5kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott $5.50 $2.15
3 Etah James (3)J: Billy Egan 56kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $34.00 $7.00
4 Shared Ambition (8)J: James Mcdonald 56kg T: C J Waller $4.00 $1.75
5 Trap For Fools (11)J: John Allen 55kg T: L Smith $16.00 $4.60
6 Levendi (1)J: Jason Maskiell 55kg T: Peter Gelagotis $26.00 $6.00
7 Sound (2)J: Mark Zahra 55kg T: M D Moroney $6.50 $2.35
8 Oceanex (7)J: Dean Yendall 55kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $13.00 $3.80
9 Carif (12)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 55kg T: P & P Snowden $31.00 $6.50
10 Selino (9)J: William Pike 55kg T: C J Waller $6.50 $2.35
11 Miami Bound (5)J: Jamie Kah 54kg T: D T O’brien $21.00 $5.50
12 Polly Grey (10)J: Jye Mcneil 53kg T: C J Waller $11.00 $3.50
13 Super Girl (4)J: Michael Dee 53kg T: Joshua Julius $34.00 $7.00



2019 – Hunting Horn (2:39.48)
2018 – Ventura Storm (2:34.37)
2017 – Who Shot Thebarman (2:37.38)
2016 – Grand Marshal (2:41.42)
2015 – The United States (2:34.43)
2014 – Prince Of Penzance (2:36.01)
2013 – Precedence (2:36.90)
2012 – Vatuvei (2:35.73)
2011 – Americain (2:36.41)
2010 – Precedence (2:38.94)