Golden Pendant

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Sep 26, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Rosehill
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $400,000

The Golden Pendant is a 1400m Group 2 race held with set weights and penalties at Rosehill Racecourse. The $400,000 race is for fillies and mares aged three and older, and in 2020 it will be held on Saturday, September 26. That is the same day as the Group 1 Golden Rose.

In 2019, the Anthony Cummings-trained Mizzy won the Golden Pendant, beating out Champagne Cuddles and Dyslexic who made up the placings. Mizzy would eventually go on to race in the Golden Eagle, finishing third behind Kolding and Sunlight.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race was originally run as the Research Stakes, taking its name from the legendary horse Research. However, in 2011 it was renamed the Golden Pendant. The very first running of the race was in 1996, where Fiddlestick claimed victory. Since then some great horses have won the race, including More Joyous and Tycoon Tara.

No horse has ever won the Golden Pendant in consecutive years but trainer Peter Snowden has had great success of late, winning it three times in the last 10 years.

The race went from 1200m to 1400m in 2012 and the quickest winning time since then belongs to 2019 winner Mizzy who clocked 1:22.58. His time was only slightly faster than that of Tycoon Tara (1:22.60) and Arabian Gold (1:22.65). The 1400m record at Rosehill belongs to Somepin Anypin who ran 1:21.38 in 2011.

Golden Pendant Field

1Shout The Bar (11)J: Tim Clark 58kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott$51.00$9.00
2Haut Brion Her (15)J: James Mcdonald 56.5kg T: C J Waller$2.40$1.35
3Positive Peace (1)J: Joshua Parr 56kg T: Bjorn Baker$15.00$4.20
4Sweet Deal (10)J: Nash Rawiller 55.5kg T: John Thompson$8.50$2.80
5Outback Barbie (3)J: Ms Rachel King 54kg T: T J Gollan$16.00$4.40
6Evalina (14)J: Jim Byrne 54kg T: K A Lees$26.00$6.00
7Jen Rules (6)J: Sam Clipperton 54kg T: P & P Snowden$15.00$4.20
8Seasons (9)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 54kg T: L J Bridge$8.50$2.80
9Adelong (7)J: Brenton Avdulla 54kg T: Brad Widdup$18.00$5.00
10Subpoenaed (5)J: Tommy Berry 54kg T: C J Waller$10.00$3.20
11Yamazaki (12)J: Robbie Dolan 54kg T: David Pfieffer$17.00$4.80
12Akari (8)J: Regan Bayliss 54kg T: Brad Widdup$51.00$9.00
13Rocha Clock (13)J: Glen Boss 54kg T: J A O’shea$0.00$0.00
14Emeralds (2)J: Jason Collett 54kg T: J G Sargent$12.00$3.60
15Air To Air (4)J: Ms Kathy O’hara 54kg T: J C Coyle$31.00$6.50



2019 – Mizzy (1:22.58)
2018 – Shumookh (1:23.09)
2017 – Daysee Doom (1:23.75)
2016 – Tycoon Tara (1:22.60)
2015 – Peeping (1:23.07)
2014 – Arabian Gold (1:22.65)
2013 – Sharnee Rose (1:23.05)
2012 – More Joyous (1:25.38)
2011 – Screen (1:09.92) (1200m)
2010 – Trim (1:09.80) (1200m)