Crystal Mile

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 24, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $200,000

The Crystal Mile is a $300,000 Group 2 weight-for-age race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Victoria. It is raced over 1600m and in 2020 will be held on Saturday, October 24, the same day as the Group 1 Cox Plate.

Chief Ironside claimed a thrilling win in the 2019 edition of the Crystal Mile, stopping Cliff’s Edge from going back-to-back in the race. After winning, Chief Ironside raced in the Group 1 Kennedy Cantala, however, finished toward the back of the field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

In 1982, Getting Closer won the first edition of the Crystal Mile but back then it was only classed as a Listed race. A number of notable horses have claimed victory over the years, including Holy Roller, Silent Achiever and Lucky Hussler.

Only one horse has ever won the Crystal Mile in consecutive years. Weasel Will claimed victory in 2000 and then again in 2001.

Before he was banned from the sport, Darren Weir had experienced decent success in the Crystal Mile. He trained two winners over the last three years, first with Lucky Hussler and then Cliff’s Edge.

2019 winner Chief Ironside ran 1:35.46 to win the Crystal Mile, however, fell short of the best time the race has seen over the last 20 years. That honour belongs to Lucky Hussler, who in 2017 clocked 1:34.56 to win.

2020 Crystal Mile Field & Odds

1Homesman (2)J: Ben Melham 59kg T: A & S Freedman$4.80$1.80
2Kings Will Dream (7)J: Michael Rodd 59kg T: C J Waller$5.00$1.85
3Streets Of Avalon (5)J: Zac Spain 59kg T: S P Nichols$17.00$4.20
4Olmedo (8)J: James Mcdonald 59kg T: C J Waller$6.50$2.20
5Dr Drill (1)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 59kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$9.00$2.60
6Age Of Chivalry (3)J: Damian Lane 59kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra$5.00$1.85
7Galaxy Raider (4)J: William Pike 59kg T: G M Begg$19.00$4.50
8Chief Ironside (6)J: Craig Williams 59kg T: K A Lees$6.00$2.15
9Riddle Me That (9)J: Daniel Stackhouse 58.5kg T: M M Laurie$12.00$3.40



2019 – Chief Ironside (1:35.46)
2018 – Cliff’s Edge (1:35.99)
2017 – Lucky Hussler (1:34.56)
2016 – The United States (1:39.79)
2015 – Turn Me Loose (1:35.02)
2014 – Hooked (1:34.98)
2013 – Toydini (1:36.04)
2012 – Silent Achiever (1:35.60)
2011 – Testa My Patience (1:36.74)
2010 – Sound Journey (1:36.71)