Caulfield Sprint

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Oct 17, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $300,000

The Caulfield Sprint is a $300,000 Group 2 race held at Caulfield Racecourse. It is raced over 1000m under handicap conditions and in 2020 will be held on Saturday, October 17, the same day as the Caulfield Cup.

Miss Leonidas won the 2020 edition of the Caulfield Sprint for trainer Shaun Dwyer. God Of Thunder and Malibu Style finished second and third respectively, with both runners less than a length behind the winner. After claiming victory in the Caulfield Sprint, Miss Leonidas took no further part in the spring, however, in 2020 she finished second in the Group 1 Galaxy.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Bow Mistress won the first edition of Caulfield Sprint back in 1983 but back then it was named the Racing Museum Sprint. Since then, some great runners have saluted in the race, including Schillaci and Spirit Of Boom.

Jockey Dwayne Dunn has had great success in the Caulfield Sprint in recent times, claiming victory three times over the last 11 years. Those wins came on board First Command, Lumosty and Our Boy Malachi, Interestingly, Lumosty won in a dead heat alongside Eclair Choice.

Before 2015, the Caulfield Sprint was an 1100m race. Since then, the fastest race time was in 2017, where the Henry Dwyer-trained won in 0:56.28. 2019 winner Miss Leonidas claimed victory in a strong time of 0:57.99.

2020 Caulfield Sprint Field

1Jungle Edge (3)J: Ms Jade Darose 60kg T: M A Bell$21.00$4.00
2Fabergino (7)J: Jordan Childs 58kg T: Tiarnna Robertson$4.40$1.40
3Graff (5)J: Damien Oliver 57kg T: D T O’brien$13.00$3.00
4Crystal Dreamer (8)J: Damian Lane 56.5kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra$34.00$5.50
5Vainstream (4)J: Craig Newitt 54.5kg T: John Pascoe$26.00$5.00
6Alfa Oro (2)J: Ben Melham 54kg T: M M Laurie$2.10$1.20
7Garner (1)J: Jye Mcneil 54kg T: G V Richards$4.80$1.45
8Shamino (6)J: Jamie Kah 54kg T: P Stokes$10.00$2.40



2019 – Miss Leonidas (0:57.99)
2018 – Eduardo (0:58.43)
2017 – Snitty Kitty (0:56.28)
2016 – Our Boy Malachi (0:57.72)
2015 – Lumosty (0:57.45)
                 Eclair Choice
2014 – Miracles Of Life (1:04.37) (1100m)
                 Bel Sprinter
2013 – Spirit Of Boom (1:04.70) (1100m)
2012 – Howmuchdoyouloveme (1:03.16) (1100m)
2011 – Sepoy (1:03.11) (1100m)
2010 – Set For Fame (1:05.42) (1100m)