Breeders Classic

Group 2

  • row1
    Date: Nov 7, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Rosehill
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $500,000


Sprint stars to return in Black Caviar


Chris Waller's two star sprinters Nature Strip and September Run will both resume in the Black Caviar Lightning at Flemington next month.Waller said they had both come through their trial at Rosehill last Friday in g... Continue Reading

Fabergino ready to fly fresh at Flemington Fake Love scratched from Magic Millions Millions runners require vet clearance Tycoon's Millions bid takes hit with draw An array of stars nominate for All-Star Read more Horse Racing news

The Breeders Classic, also known as the Hot Danish Stakes, is a 1400m Group 2 race for fillies and mares aged three and older that is held at Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney. It has set weights and a prize pool of $500,000. In 2020, the race will be run on Saturday, November 7.

Reelem In Ruby won the 2019 edition of the Breeders Classic for the Snowden yard, with stablemate Moss Trip running second. El Dorado Dreaming rounded out the placings by running third. After winning the Breeders Classic, Reelem In Ruby didn’t race again until 2020.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The champion pairing of Chris Waller and Hugh Bowman has had great success in the Breeders Classic over recent years, winning it three straight years from 2013-2015. The first two of those wins came with Catkins, who won multiple Group races after originally being sold for $85,000. The other Waller/Bowman victory came with Amicus in 2015.
Catkins isn’t the only runner to win the Breeders Classic in consecutive years. In fact, John O’Shea’s Steps In Time won the two years prior to Catkins’ first victory.

Reelem In Ruby won the 2019 Breeders Classic in 1:22.62 but it was the first time it had been run over 1400m, having normally been a 1200m race. The fastest race time over that distance in the last 20 years belongs to More Joyous, who clocked 1:08.60 in 2010.


2019 – Reelem In Ruby (1:22.62)
2018 – Champagne Cuddles (1:12.11) (1200m)
2017 – Prompt Response (1:12.11) (1200m)
2016 – In Her Time (1:12.11) (1200m)
2015 – Amicus (1:12.11) (1200m)
2014 – Catkins (1:12.11) (1200m)
2013 – Catkins (1:12.11) (1200m)
2012 – Steps In Time (1:12.11) (1200m)
2011 – Steps In Time (1:12.11) (1200m)
2010 – More Joyous (1:12.11) (1200m)