Epsom Handicap

Group 1

  • row1
    Date: Oct 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $1,000,000


Hawkes colts fight out Golden Rose finish

Rosehill 4 3 19580323 2031414 20200926170940c4a8bb0f f128 44f8 aeb6

Two superbly bred Hawkes Racing colts have fought out the finish of the Group One Golden Rose as Rothfire's Everest campaign came under a cloud. The Queensland flyer, who started an odds-on favourite, punctured late t... Continue Reading

Rising star Russian Camelot earns praise Pippie leads throughout to win Moir Stakes September 26: 9 Must Watch Horses on Underwood Stakes Day Weight right for Boomsara in Weetwood Mark Zahra Picks Up Verry Elleegant Caulfield Cup Ride Read more Horse Racing news

The Epsom Handicap is a $1 million open handicap Group 1 race held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. The open handicap is run over 1600m and in 2020 will be held on Saturday, October 3, the same day as the Metropolitan and the Darley Flight Stakes.

In 2019, the Chris Waller-trained Kolding won the Epsom Handicap, beating out fan favourite Te Akau Shark and Star Of The Seas. After the Epsom Handicap, Kolding went on to win the inaugural Golden Rose, which boasts a $7.5 million prize pool. Te Akau Shark also went on to perform well, placing in the Cox Plate and then winning the Chipping Norton Stakes in early 2020.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Epsom Handicap was first run back in 1865 and was won by Dundee. It gets its name from Epsom Downs Racecourse, which is a famous track in England. Some of the greats of the turf have won the race, including Shannon, Imposing, Super Impose, Shogun Lodge, Desert War and Winx.

A number of horses have won the Epsom Handicap in consecutive years. Masquerade was the first to do it, claiming victory in 1882 and 1884. Since then the likes of Chatham (‘32 & ‘33), Super Impose (‘90 & ‘91) and Desert War (‘04 & ‘05) have all replicated the feat.

Chris Waller has had great success in the Epsom Handicap in recent time, managing to win it four of the last seven years. His winners in that time were Boban, He’s Your Man, Winx and Kolding.

In the 2019 edition of the race, Kolding clocked 1:34.80 to win, however, the fastest 1600m time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Hartnell. He managed a 1:32.73 when he won the race in 2018.

Epsom Handicap Field

The Epsom Handicap is a $1 million Group 1, so understandably it normally has a very strong field. It is also relatively early in the spring, so a number of the top horses go from the Epsom to more of the top Group 1s later in the carnival. Nominations for the race close on September 28 and final acceptances are on September 30.

Epsom Handicap Betting

Over recent years, the Epsom Handicap has been a good race for punters. Four of the last five winners had starting prices of $6.50 or less, with three of them being favourites of equal favourites. The only outlier in the last five years was Hartnell, who in 2018 won at a starting price of $20.

Epsom Handicap Results

1 Kolding Chris Waller Glen Boss $5.50
2 Te Akau Shark Jamie Richards James McDonald $5.50
3 Star Of The Seas Chris Waller Michael Dee $13
4 Gem Song Kris Lees Brenton Avdulla $11
5 Rock Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Kerrin McEvoy $11
6 Nettoyer Wendy Roche Ben Thompson $31
7 Cascadian James Cummings Robbie Dolan $15
8 Fifty Stars David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Tim Clark $15
9 Desert Lord Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James Innes Jnr $26
10 Best Of Days James Cummings Tommy Berry $26
11 Mr Marathon Man Michael Moronoey Dean Holland $61
12 Unforgotten Chris Waller Jay Ford $26
13 The Candy Man Barry Baldwin Brock Ryan $101
14 Junipal Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Damien Thornton $26
15 Kaonic Chris Waller Andrew Gibbons $61
16 Mantastic Chris Waller Andrew Adkins $101
17 Dreamforce John Thompson Nash Rawiller $7
18 Le Juge Chris Waller Ms Jess Taylor $201
19 Archedemus Gwenda Markwell Dom Tourneur $61


2019 – Kolding (1:34.80)
2018 – Hartnell (1:32.73)
2017 – Happy Clapper (1:33.17)
2016 – Hauraki (1:33.87)
2015 – Winx (1:34.58)
2014 – He’s Your Man (1:33.34)
2013 – Boban (1:34.43)
2012 – Fat Al (1:34.56)
2011 – Secret Admirer (1:35.59)
2010 – Captain Sonador (1:34.12)