Empire Rose Stakes


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The race takes its name from champion mare Empire Rose, who won both the Mackinnon Stakes and Melbourne Cup in 1988. A number of great horses have won the race over the years, including Divine Madonna, Typhoon Tracy and Shoals.

Dean Yendall has had great success in the race over recent times, saluting twice in the last four years. He won onboard I Am A Star in 2016 and followed it up with a win on Shoals a year later.

Melody Belle clocked 1:37.78 to win the 2019 Empire Rose Stakes, however, it wasn’t the fastest time the race has seen over the last 20 years. That honour belongs to Market Price, who ran 1:34.20 back in 2001.

Empire Rose Stakes Field

The Empire Rose Stakes is a $1 million Group 1 so normally has a very strong field. It is full of some of the best fillies and mares from not only around Australia but also around the world. In 2020, nominations close on October 26 and final acceptances are on October 28.

2020 Empire Rose Stakes Field, Barriers, and Odds

1Mystic Journey (5)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 57kg T: Adam Trinder$4.40$1.85
2Nettoyer (8)J: Glen Boss 57kg T: Ms W Roche$26.00$6.00
3Madam Rouge (12)J: James Mcdonald 57kg T: C J Waller$11.00$3.50
4Pretty Brazen (6)J: Luke Currie 56.5kg T: T & C Mcevoy$14.00$3.90
5Vanna Girl (1)J: Hugh Bowman 56.5kg T: A J & T Edmonds$17.00$4.60
6Shout The Bar (11)J: Damien Oliver 56.5kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott$41.00$8.50
7Asiago (2)J: Mark Zahra 56.5kg T: James Cummings$67.00$15.00
8Missile Mantra (9)J: Damian Lane 56.5kg T: P & P Snowden$26.00$6.00
9Felicia (10)J: Craig Williams 56.5kg T: D Binaisse$12.00$3.70
10She Shao Fly (3)J: Jamie Kah 56.5kg T: K L Corstens$16.00$4.40
11Chaillot (4)J: Declan Bates 56.5kg T: Archie Alexander$12.00$3.70
12Odeum (7)J: Jye Mcneil 49kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$3.60$1.60
13Chica Fuerte (13)J: Dean Holland 49kg T: A & S Freedman$26.00$6.00
14Forbidden Love (14)J: Dean Yendall 49kg T: R & M Freedman$20.00$5.00


Empire Rose Stakes Betting

Punters have had a good time betting on the Empire Rose Stakes in recent years, with four of the last five winners all having starting prices inside $10. The only outlier in the bunch is 2015 winner Politeness who won with a starting price of $19.

Empire Rose Stakes Results

1Melody BelleJamie RichardsOpie Bosson$3.80
2AristiaMathew Ellerton & Simon ZahraCraig Williams$17
3Spanish ReefKen KeysMark Zahra$20
4Princess JenniDavid BrideoakeDamien Oliver$14
5Baccarat BabyDavid VandykeMicheal Hellyer$21
6NoireChris WallerMichael Walker$41
7PohutukawaJames CummingsHugh Bowman$4.40
8Miss SiskaGrahame BeggMs Linda Meech$26
9NettoyerWendy RocheBrad Rawiller$16
10FideliaRobbie GriffithsJamie Mott$19
11Angelic RulerDaniel & Ben PearceBrett Prebble$26
12InvincibellaChris WallerJohn Allen$21
13SavatianoJames CummingsJames Doyle$8.50
14Spanish WhisperDavid HayesDwayne Dunn$41
15AmphitriteDavid HayesLuke Nolen$31
16NaivashaPat CareyRhys McLeod$201


2019 – Melody Belle (1:37.78)
2018 – Shillelagh (1:34.86)
2017 – Shoals (1:35.26)
2016 – I Am A Star (1:35.56)
2015 – Politeness (1:37.75)
2014 – Bonaria (1:36.55)
2013 – Red Tracer (1:36.45)
2012 – Appearance (1:34.97)
2011 – Hurtle Myrtle (1:37.50)
2010 – Sacred Choice (1:38.91)