Doncaster Mile

2021 Doncaster Mile Details
Date: Saturday April 3
Start time: TBA
Racecourse: Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Grade: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,500,000
Track Surface: Turf
Race Conditions: Handicap, 3YO and Up
Type: Thoroughbred

2021 Doncaster Mile

The Doncaster Mile is a time-honoured handicap over the mile, run on the opening day of The Championships at Randwick during Sydney’s autumn racing carnival.

With the race being run under handicap conditions, it gives gallopers somewhat even footing, with stars of the turf forced to carry a heavy weight, whereas younger horses like three-year-olds are given a fighting chance with a significant weight relief, making it an entertaining contest for punters.

The first running of the Doncaster Mile was way back in 1866, and over the years there have been many greats to win the contest, including Wakeful (1901), Chatham (1934), Tobin Bronze (1967), Gunsynd (1972), Super Impose (1990, 1991), Sunline (1999, 2002), Grand Armee (2003), and Winx (2016).

Nettoyer won the 2020 Doncaster Mile, coming from the back of the field at the turn to emerge victorious in spectacular fashion.

2021 Doncaster Mile Tips

2021 Doncaster Mile Field

Russian Camelot14.004.25
Danon Fantasy15.004.50
North Pacific19.005.50
Danon Smash26.007.30
Dawn Passage26.007.30
Fierce Impact26.007.30

2021 Doncaster Mile Best Bets

Kiwi raider Aegon looked a potential star when taking out the Hobartville Stakes (1400m) in his first Australian start, and could certainly be more than competitive in a Doncaster under Handicap conditions, where he would be awarded a relatively low weight as a three year old. He’s already won over the mile in New Zealand in the Karaka Million, and looks a reasonable play at the current quote.

Probabeel has returned in outstanding order so far this preparation, taking out the Geoffrey Bellmaine Stakes and the Futurity Stakes over the seven furlongs so far, and will be suited by the mile as well. She’s heading to the All Star Mile and could very well win that on her current form, and would take a power of beating in a Doncaster. Also, she’s already won the spring equivalent of the race, winning the 2020 Epsom Handicap.

Salios is a lightly raced Japanese colt who has already racked up some impressive wins in his short career, including the Saudi Arabia Royal Cup, the Asahi Hai Futurity Stakes, and the Mainichi Okan. We all know the supreme quality of Japanese horses and the success that they have when they come to Australia, this galloper must be respected.

2021 Doncaster Mile Trifecta Tips

Aegon, Probabeel, Salios.

2021 Doncaster Mile Favourite

The current Donaster Mile all-in favourite is Aegon at $8.

2020 Doncaster Mile Results

ResultsBest OddsMargin
118 Nettoyer$43/$111:37.77
214 Star of the Seas$70.50L
319 Brandenburg$3.10.60L

2020 Doncaster Mile Field

1MELODY BELLEJamie RichardsOpie Bosson1457kg
2KOLDINGChris WallerHugh Bowman1757kg
3HOMESMANAnthony FreedmanNash Rawiller2256.5kg
4KINGS WILL DREAMChris WallerJoshua Parr856.5kg
5MISTER SEA WOLFChris WallerJames McDonald956kg
6BEST OF DAYSJames CummingsJason Collett2155.5kg
7MR QUICKIEPhillip StokesGlyn Schofield2355kg
8SUPER SETHAnthony FreedmanRobbie Dolan (a)255kg
9YULONG PRINCEChris WallerBrenton Avdulla654.5kg
10CASCADIANJames CummingsTommy Berry1854kg
11CON TE PARTIROGai Waterhouse & Adrian BottTim Clark1353.5kg
12IMAGINGChris WallerKerrin McEvoy2053.5kg
13QUACKERJACKMark NewnhamMs Rachel King153.5kg
14STAR OF THE SEASChris WallerSam Clipperton1653kg
15TALLYJames CummingsMs Kathy O’Hara2453kg
16NIGHTS WATCHChris WallerAdam Hyeronimus1953kg
17SHARED AMBITIONChris WallerJay Ford452.5kg
18NETTOYERWendy RocheJames Innes Jnr1051.5kg
19BRANDENBURGJohn SargentGlen Boss750.5kg
20PRINCE FAWAZAnthony CummingsJean Van Overmeire (a)1150.5kg
21DR DRILLCiaron Maher & David Eustace1251.5kg
22WOLFEGai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott551.5kg
23RELOADEDChris Waller1550.5kg
24RAINBOW THIEFMichael Moroney351.5kg


Donaster Mile Winners

  • 2020: Nettoyer
  • 2019: Brutal
  • 2018: Happy Clapper
  • 2017: It’s Somewhat
  • 2016: Winx
  • 2015: Kermadec
  • 2014: Sacred Falls
  • 2013: Sacred Falls
  • 2012: More Joyous
  • 2011: Sacred Choice
  • 2010: Rangirangdoo
  • 2009: Vision and Power
  • 2008: Triple Honour
  • 2007: Haradasun

Doncaster Mile Betting

Bet TypeHow to Place This Type of Bet
Win BetPlace a bet on the horse you think will be the outright winner (1st place) in the 2021 Doncaster Mile
Place BetPlace a bet on the horse you think will place in the top three in the 2021 Doncaster Mile. Pays less than a win bet, but the odds are safer
Each-Way BetPlace a bet on the horse you think will win the Doncaster Mile, with a safety net of a place bet. If your horse runs 1st, you will collect both the Win and the Place pay-out. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd, you will win only the Place pay-out
Quinellla BetPlace a bet on the horses you think will finish 1st and 2nd in the any order in the Doncaster Mile
Exacta BetPlace a bet on the horses you think will finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order in the Doncaster Mile
Trifecta BetPlace a bet on the horses you think will finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order in the Doncaster Mile
First FourPlace a bet on the horses you think will finish 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th in the correct order in the Doncaster Mile
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie)Place a bet on the winners of four nominated races to win a Quaddie. This means you have to select three other races apart from the Doncaster Mile to place a Quaddie

Doncaster Mile Questions

Doncaster Mile Prize Money

The Doncaster Mile has $1,500,000 in prize money.

Who won the 2020 Doncaster Mile?

Nettoyer took out the 2020 Doncaster Mile. She was trained by Wendy Roche, and gained internet notoriety as the horse consumed a pizza and beer after the victory.

How to place a bet on the Doncaster Mile?

You can place a bet on the Doncaster Mile using any Australian Bookmaker. We recommend Sportsbet.

When is the Doncaster Mile?

The Doncaster Mile is held on Saturday April 3, 2021.

Where is the Doncaster Mile?

The 2021 Doncaster Mile is held at Randwick, and is one of five Group One events on the day, the first day of The Championships.

These include the Doncaster Mile, the Australian Derby, the TJ Smith Stakes, the Sires Produce Stakes, and the Country Championships.