Security Sprint


  • row1
    Date: Nov 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $150,000


Probabeel Heading Home to NZ After Successful Spring


Star mare Probabeel is heading home to New Zealand after a successful spring campaign in Australia. The preparation came to an end after her gutsy performance in Saturday’s Cox Plate (2040m), where she worked hard t... Continue Reading

Ryan faces an anxious wait with Bottega Third Acceptances: 45 Remain in Quest for 2020 Melbourne Cup Maher hoping Anders ready for Coolmore 2020 Melbourne Cup Hopefuls Line up in Capacity 2020 Bendigo Cup Miami Bound Escapes 2020 Melbourne Cup Weight Penalty Read more Horse Racing news

The Security Sprint, which is registered as the Always Welcome Stakes, is a Listed 1200m handicap race held at Flemington Racecourse. It has a $150,000 prize pool and in 2020 will be run on Tuesday, November 3, the same day as the Melbourne Cup.

The Kris Lees-trained Tactical Advantage won the 2019 Security Sprint. Holbien finished second, with Milwaukee placing third and Parsifal rounding out the first four. Tactical Advantage then went on to finish second in the $1 million Hunter.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

2011 marked the first running of the Listed Security Sprint, with Brad Rawiller riding Facile Tigre racing to victory. Since then, no trainer or jockey has been able to establish consistent success in the race.

Richie’s Vibe ran 1:08.70 to win the Security Sprint in 2013, which is the fastest time the race has seen over the last 10 years. 2019 winner Tactical Advantage ran 1:09.91 to claim victory, meanwhile, the Flemington 1200m track record is 1:07.16, which Iglesia ran in 2001.


2019 – Tactical Advantage (1:09.91)
2018 – Teleplay (1:10.09)
2017 – Ocean Embers (1:09.33)
2016 – Flippant (1:09.74)
2015 – Sea Lord (1:09.67)
2014 – Reparations (1:08.79)
2013 – Richie’s Vibe (1:08.70)
2012 – Unpretentious (1:09.11)
2011 – Facile Tigre (1:10.00)