Winner Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Oct 31, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Rosehill
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,300m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $1,000,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Winners Stakes is a 1300m race held at Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney. It has set weights plus penalties and a total prize pool of $1 million. It is named after whichever horse won The Everest the year prior, so in 2020 it will be called the Yes Yes Yes Stakes, and will be run on Saturday, October 31.
The 2019 edition of the Winners Stakes, which was named the Redzel Stakes, was won by the Gregory Hickman-trained Pierata. Trekking ran second for James Cummings, with Le Romain rounding out the placings. Pierata entered the race after finishing fifth in The Everest and after claiming victory didn’t race again in 2019.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Winners Stakes is yet another effort from Racing NSW to strengthen their Spring Racing Carnival. It is raced on the same day as the Golden Eagle and Winners Stakes and takes place two weeks after The Everest. In 2019, a number of horses who either ran in The Everest, but failed to win, or missed out on a slot, then went on to compete in the Winners Stakes. That trend is expected to continue over the coming years.

Pierata clocked 1:16.59 to win the 2019 Winners Stakes, and although he won the race by a length, the time was still over two seconds behind the 1300m Rosehill track record. That honour belongs to Trapeze Artist, who ran 1:14.19 in early 2019.


1st – Pierata (1:16.59)
2nd – Trekking – 1L
3rd – Le Romain – 1.1L
4th – Deprive – 1.2L