The Kosciuszko


  • row1
    Date: Oct 17, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Randwick
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $130,000


Enchanted Heart scores consolation win

Enchanted Heart missed out on a berth in the Golden Eagle but she has provided connections with a consolation prize at Rosehill.The mare was second emergency and failed to gain a start in Saturday's $7.5 million feature ... Continue Reading

Ashrun races his way into Melb Cup field History of Hotham Stakes winners in Cup Oliver says Bott's blinker idea wins race September Run races away with Coolmore Costello wins home track Cup for Payne Read more Horse Racing news

The Kosciuszko is a race specifically for New South Wales country trained horses that is run over 1200m at Randwick Racecourse. It has set weights plus penalties and a total prize pool of $1.3 million. In 2020, it will be raced on Saturday, October 17, the same day as The Everest.

Handle The Truth won the 2019 edition of The Kosciuszko for trainer Keith Dryden. Victorem ran second, with Bobbing and Noble Boy finishing third and fourth respectively. After claiming victory in the race, Handle The Truth placed second in the Goulburn Cup.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race has an interesting twist, with members of the public able to be involved. Punters are allowed to buy $5 sweepstake tickets, with 14 winning ticket holders drawn in early September. Those who are chosen are then able to select a runner to race in their entry, something which Racing New South Wales is able to help with. Terms are agreed upon with horse owners and then the field is settled.

2019 Kosciuszko winner Handle The Truth ran 1:08.21 to claim victory in what was an impressive effort. It was less than a second behind Yes Yes Yes’ 1200m Randwick track record, which stands at 1:07.32.


1 Handle The Truth Keith Dryden Nash Rawiller $7
2 Victorem Jenny Graham Tommy Berry $2.70
3 Bobbing Bernie Kelly Koby Jennings $26
4 Noble Boy Todd Blowes Hugh Bowman $6
5 Star Boy Brett Cavanough Keagan Latham $18
6 Press Box Dean Mirfin Robbie Dolan $71
7 Don’t Give A Damn Danny Williams Kerrin McEvoy $26
8 Luna Mia Paul Messara Tim Clark $21
9 Up Trumpz Joe Cleary Mark Zahra $101
10 Notation Matthew Dale James McDonald $5.50
11 Awesome Pluck Jenny Graham Joshua Parr $16
12 Tarbert John Shelton Glenn Boss $41
13 Suncraze Melanie O’Gorman Brenton Avdulla $61
14 Belflyer John Shelton Adam Hyeronimus $51