Sandown Cup


  • row1
    Date: Nov 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Sandown
  • row3
    Race Distance: 3,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $150,000

The Sandown Cup is a 3200m Listed race held at Sandown Racecourse in Melbourne. The handicap has a $150,000 prize pool and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, November 14, the same day as the Zipping Classic.

Azuro won the 2019 Sandown Cup, beating out a small but decent field. Wall Of Fire finished second to make it a 1-2 for the Maher and Eustace stable, while Luke Nolen rode Neufbosc to third place. Azuro didn’t race again in 2019 and in 2020 finished at the back of the field in the Group 1 Sydney Cup.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Some strong gallopers have won the Sandown Cup over recent years. Almoonqith crossed the line first in 2015 and Qewy was victorious in 2016.

David Hayes has the best record of any trainer over the short history of the Sandown Cup, winning it twice over the eight times it has been run. The first of those victories was with Almoonqith and the second was Fanatic.

Almoonqith ran the fastest Sandown Cup time, clocking 3:21.59 in 2015. To put that into perspective, 2019 winner Azuro saluted in 3:24.64.


2019 – Azuro (3:24.64)
2018 – Yogi (3:21.65)
2017 – Fanatic (3:25.93)
2016 – Qewy (3:25.87)
2015 – Almoonqith (3:21.59)
2014 – Renew (3:23.69)
2013 – Caravan Rolls On (3:23.82)
2012 – Ibicenco (3:26.86)