Super Impose Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Oct 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,800m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000


2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds

Caulfield 4 3 19564607 2031079 2020092413092090d44292 500f 4f9a 882f 24a836a7b37d 1.jpg sd 800x600 1

The fourth and final Group 1 at Flemington on a stacked Derby Day is the 2020 Kennedy Cantala Stakes (1600m), attracting a capacity field of 16 plus four emergencies. Favourite Mr Quickie has drawn out in barrier 16, ... Continue Reading

2020 Coolmore Stud Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds 2020 Empire Rose Stakes Final Field, Barrier Draw & Odds Vandyke: ‘Question Marks’ on Alligator Blood in Golden Eagle O'Brien ready for the unorthodox in Derby Santa Ana Lane Skipping Yes Yes Yes Stakes for VRC Sprint Classic Read more Horse Racing news

The Super Impose Stakes is a 1800m Listed race held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. The three-year-old race is run with set weights and penalties and has a prize pool of $140,000. In 2020, the race will be run on Saturday, October 3, the same day as the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes.

Warning won the 2019 edition of the Super Impose Stakes, with Martin Harley guiding him home in front of Independent Road and Huntly Castle. Of course, Warning went on to win the Group 1 Victoria Derby, claiming victory in front of Southern Moon and Soul Patch.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race is named after legendary horse Super Impose. The star gelding won the Cox Plate and claimed victory in the Epsom Handicap and Chipping Norton Stakes twice.

Villain won the first running of the Listed Super Impose Stakes, and since then some decent runners have crossed the line first in the race. They include Victoria Derby winners Polanski and Extra Brut.

Warning clocked 1:49.74 to win the race in 2019, but the fastest winning time belongs to Vanilla. In 2012 Brad Rawiller rode Vanilla to victory in the Super Impose Stakes in a time of 1:47.86.

2020 Super Impose Stakes Field, Barriers, and Odds

Horse Win Place
1 Lunar Fox (8)J: Brett Prebble 58.5kg T: P A Preusker $10.00 $3.30
2 Khoekhoe (15)J: Fred W Kersley 57.5kg T: Matthew Cumani $13.00 $4.00
3 Alcyone (7)J: John Allen 57.5kg T: James Cummings $9.50 $3.10
4 Wise Counsel (3)J: Jye Mcneil 57.5kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $8.50 $2.90
5 Celestial Sol (6)J: Craig Williams 57kg T: C J Waller $13.00 $4.00
6 Albarado (16)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: T Busuttin & N Young $17.00 $5.00
7 The Pres (12)J: Michael Rodd 57kg T: T Busuttin & N Young $34.00 $9.00
8 Tell Me Again (4)J: Luke Nolen 57kg T: P Stokes $16.00 $4.80
9 The Brumby (20)J: Luke Currie 57kg T: T & C Mcevoy $11.00 $3.50
10 Frankie Two Angels (13)J: Jamie Mott 57kg T: Denis Pagan $31.00 $8.50
11 Johnny Get Angry (19)J: Lachlan King 57kg T: Denis Pagan $26.00 $7.50
12 Oceanography (2)J: Ben Melham 57kg T: C Maher & D Eustace $11.00 $3.50
13 Bak Da Man (14)J: Dean Yendall 57kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $18.00 $5.50
14 Young Werther (5)J: Damien Oliver 57kg T: D T O’brien $3.90 $1.75
15 Deepstrike (18)J: Jordan Childs 57kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $31.00 $8.50
16 Laughing Grizzley (1)J: Craig Newitt 57kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $34.00 $9.00
17 Dalgarno (9)J: Michael Walker 57kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $18.00 $5.50
18 Johnny Buccaneer (11)J: Michael Dee 57kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $41.00 $10.00
19 Reliable Dude (10)J: Jamie Kah 57kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra $26.00 $7.50
20 Born To Succeed (17)J: William Pike 57kg T: Saab Hasan $126.00 $26.00



2019 – Warning (1:49.74)
2018 – Extra Brut (1:48.47)
2017 – Main Stage (1:49.49)
2016 – Wine Bush (1:50.60)
2015 – Ayers Rock (1:49.36)
2014 – Atmosphere (1:49.77)
2013 – Polanski (1:51.13)
2012 – Vanilla (1:47.86)
2011 – Isopach (1:52.47)
2010 – Eclair Surprise (1:50.83)