RM Ansett Classic


  • row1
    Date: Sep 27, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Mornington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000


Freedmans land maiden Group One win

forbidden love is building an impressive record

Richard and Michael Freedman have celebrated their first Group One win as a training partnership with Forbidden Love's emphatic Surround Stakes victory.The milestone has continued the brothers' outstanding start to t... Continue Reading

Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Kiwi mare is more than a Probabeel star Read more Horse Racing news

The RM Ansett Classic is a Listed handicap race that has a prize pool of $140,000 and is held at Mornington Racecourse. The 2400m race will be run on Sunday, September 27, a day after the Golden Rose and Underwood Stakes.

In 2019, Valac won the RM Ansett Classic, with Exemplar and Creedence finishing second and third respectively. He went on to race in the Group 3 Hotham Handicap, however, finished towards the back of the field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

I’m Jake won the first edition of the Listed RM Ansett Classic in 2011. Crafty Cruiser claimed victory in the race in 2013 and Almandin won it in 2016, the same year he won the Melbourne Cup.

Jockey Ben Allen has had some decent success in the RM Ansett Classic of late, winning it twice in the last three years. Those rides were in 2018 and 2017 and were on Haripour and Swacadelic.

Valac recorded 2:29.89 in the RM Ansett Classic to win in 2019, however it was the year before that saw the fastest time in the race. That honour belongs to the Darren Weir-trained Haripour who ran 2:28.17 to claim victory in 2018.


2019 – Valac (2:29.89)
2018 – Haripour (2:28.17)
2017 – Swacadelic (2:33.35)
2016 – Almandin (2:30.13)
2015 – Black Tomahawk (2:30.14)
2014 – Like A Carousel (2:32.04)
2013 – Crafty Cruiser (2:38.34) (2415m)
2012 – Dame Claire (2:35.76) (2413m)
2011 – I’m Jake (2:36.76) (2413m)