Poseidon Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Oct 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,100m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000


Track Manager Spills the Beans on How The Valley Track Will Play!

20191026001428884639 original

The Valley is home to 18 races in 24 hours, with the track pattern largely a mystery with the predicted rain to come on Friday evening and throughout the day on Saturday. The track is currently rated a Good 4, but the... Continue Reading

James McDonald Ready for Cox Plate with ‘Airborne’ Ride Mare can complete McEvoy's grand slam set 2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Read more Horse Racing news

The Poseidon Stakes is an 1100m Listed race held at Flemington Racecourse. The three-year-old race has set weights and penalties and a total prize pool of $140,000. In 2020, it will be held on Saturday, October 3, the same day as the Turnbull Stakes.

Taraayef won the 2019 edition of the Poseidon Stakes, with Hawker Hurricane and Wayupinthesky finishing second and third respectively. After winning the race, she took part in the Group 3 Red Roses Stakes but finished towards the back of the field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race is named after famous horse Poseidon. He won the Melbourne Cup in 1906 and also claimed victory in the Caulfield Cup twice. In 2004, Poseidon was inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame.

Disgraced trainer Darren Weir had seen great success in the Poseidon Stakes before being banned from the sport. He has trained two winners of the race in the last six years, including Group 1 winner Stratum Star.

In 2019, Taraayef recorded a time of 1:03.55 to win the Poseidon Stakes, however, it was the first time in the last 20 years that it had been raced over 1100m. Before then it had been a 1400m race.

2020 Poseidon Stakes Field, Barriers and Odds

Horse Win Place
1 Wisdom Of Water (9)J: Michael Dee 58.5kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr $13.00 $3.70
2 Valaquenta (11)J: Damien Oliver 57.5kg T: James Cummings $5.00 $2.00
3 Pioneer River (4)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes $26.00 $5.50
4 Itzhot (5)J: Jamie Mott 57kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes $31.00 $6.00
5 Portland Sky (2)J: Ben Melham 57kg T: M M Laurie $7.00 $2.40
6 Mildred (3)J: Jordan Childs 56.5kg T: G M Begg $20.00 $5.00
7 Minhaaj (8)J: Daniel Stackhouse 56.5kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes $4.50 $1.80
8 September Run (10)J: Craig Williams 56kg T: C J Waller $3.50 $1.50
9 Forever Free (1)J: Damian Lane 56kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra $9.50 $2.90
10 Maha (7)J: Luke Currie 55kg T: T & C Mcevoy $21.00 $5.00
11 Island Joy (6)J: Jamie Kah 55kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra $17.00 $4.50



2019 – Taraayef (1:03.55)
2018 – Wild Planet (1:22.65) (1400m)
2017 – Snitzepeg (1:23.95) (1400m)
2016 – Inside Agent (1:25.04) (1400m)
2015 – One For One (1:22.74) (1400m)
2014 – Stratum Star (1:23.79) (1400m)
2013 – Paximadia (1:25.40) (1410m)
2012 – Pronto Pronto (1:23.84) (1410m)
2011 – Collar (1:24.54) (1400m)
2010 – Territory (1:25.21) (1400m)