Mona Lisa Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Sep 4, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Wyong
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,350m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000


2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out


2020 Cox Plate second favourite Armory has been passed fit to start in Saturday’s $5 million contest. However, Aidan O’Brien’s other runner under veterinary inspection Magic Wand has been withdrawn from Saturday... Continue Reading

COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Armory and Magic Wand Signs of Lameness, to be Examined by Vets Ryan oozes confidence in Bondi favourite Maher has two great chances in Cox Plate Read more Horse Racing news

The Mona Lisa Stakes is a 1350m Listed race held at Wyong Racecourse in New South Wales. It is for fillies and mares and is raced with set weights and penalties. There is a $140,000 prize pool up for grabs and in 2020 the race will be held on Friday, September 4, the same day as the Wyong Gold Cup.

Foxy Housewife won the 2019 edition of the Mona Lisa Stakes, with Laburnum and Connemara making up the placings. She went around the outside on the bend, sprinting home and winning the race by less than half a length. From the Mona Lisa Stakes, Foxy Housewife went on to race in the Group 3 Tibbie Stakes but finished in the back half of the field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Johan’s Toy won the first edition of the Mona Lisa Stakes back in 2005. Since then, trainer Gai Waterhouse has had the greatest level of success in the race, winning it four times. It has been a while since her last winner though, which came back in 2012 with Miss Stellabelle.

In 2019, Foxy Housewife recorded a time of 1:19.24 over the Wyong 1350m. The fastest time in the race over the years belongs to Impetuous who won for Clarry Conners in 2013. That year she clocked 1:18.66.


2019 – Foxy Housewife (1:19.24)
2018 – Savatiano (1:19.93)
2017 – Lubiton (1:18.85)
2016 – Fitou (1:22.03)
2015 – Vergara (1:18.74)
2014 – Bouzy Rouge (1:21.86)
2013 – Impetuous (1:18.66)
2012 – Miss Stellabelle (1:19.91)
2011 – Sweetest Melody (1:19.44)
2010 – Brasileira (1:20.32)