Merson Cooper Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Nov 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Sandown
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000


Sprint stars to return in Black Caviar


Chris Waller's two star sprinters Nature Strip and September Run will both resume in the Black Caviar Lightning at Flemington next month.Waller said they had both come through their trial at Rosehill last Friday in g... Continue Reading

Fabergino ready to fly fresh at Flemington Fake Love scratched from Magic Millions Millions runners require vet clearance Tycoon's Millions bid takes hit with draw An array of stars nominate for All-Star Read more Horse Racing news

The Merson Cooper Stakes is a 1100m Listed race held at Sandown Racecourse in Melbourne. It has a total prize pool of $140,000, is for two-year-olds and has set weights. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, November 14.

The Anthony Freedman-trained Hanseatic won the 2019 Merson Cooper Stakes, with Dubai Star and River Night finishing second and third respectively. Hanseatic didn’t run again in 2019, however, placed second in Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes in 2020.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

David Hayes has had great success in the Merson Cooper Stakes over recent times, winning it five times since 2005. Red Pluton was the first of those victors, and it was followed by wins with Press The Button, Dinner Date, Bulbula and Long Leaf.

No jockey has quite been able to replicate Hayes’ efforts, however, Kerrin McEvoy does have a decent record. He won the Merson Cooper Stakes three times between 2009 and 2017.

Hanseatic clocked 0:57.36 to win the 2019 edition of the Merson Cooper Stakes and although it was a solid time, the fastest the race has seen over the last 20 years belongs to British Lion. The 2001 winner ran a blistering 0:55.58 in an impressive victory.


2019 – Hanseatic (0:57.36)
2018 – Steal My Kisses (0:58.21)
2017 – Long Leaf (0:57.44)
2016 – Arctic Angel (0:56.33)
2015 – Jackson (0:58.01)
2014 – Thurlow (0:57.57)
2013 – Golconda (0:58.66)
2012 – Bulbula (0:58.03)
2011 – Maximus Moonard (0:59.71)
2010 – Dinner Date (0:59.93)