Maribyrnong Trial Stakes

The Maribyrnong Trial Stakes is 1000m Listed race held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. The two-year-old race is run with set weights and a total prize pool of $140,000. In 2020, it will be run on Saturday, October 3, the same day as the Turnbull Stakes.

The Grahame Begg-trained Mildred won the 2019 edition of the Maribyrnong Trial Stakes, beating out a small field by over a length. She only raced once more in the spring but in 2020 she ran in the Group 1 Golden Slipper.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Hayes, Hayes and Dabernig stable has had great success in the Maribyrnong Trial Stakes in recent years. They have trained the winner twice in the last four years, with Nomothaj claiming victory in 2017 and Madeenaty crossing the line first in 2016. Jockey Stephen Baster has also impressed, riding the winner of the Maribyrnong Trial Stakes twice over the last three years.

Mildred clocked 0:58.76 to win the race in 2019, however, it is not the fastest 1000m time the race has seen over the last 20 years. That belongs to I Got Chills, who recorded a 0:56.48 back in 2005

2020 Maribyrnong Trial Stakes Field, Barriers and Odds

1General Beau (6)J: Jamie Kah 58kg T: M Ellerton & S Zahra$2.70$1.40
2Finance Tycoon (11)J: Luke Nolen 58kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$16.00$4.40
3Gummy Bear (2)J: Jason Benbow 58kg T: Tim Hughes$91.00$21.00
4Enuff Already (7)J: Damian Lane 58kg T: Levi Kavanagh$26.00$6.00
5I Am War (5)J: Lewis German 58kg T: T J Andrews$41.00$7.50
6Ingratiating (1)J: Damien Oliver 58kg T: James Cummings$9.00$2.90
7Umgawa (3)J: Jye Mcneil 58kg T: L & T Corstens$21.00$5.00
8Vinlago (9)J: Luke Currie 58kg T: R D Griffiths$6.50$2.35
9Cloudy (10)J: John Allen 56kg T: James Cummings$14.00$3.90
10Excela Bella (8)J: Craig Williams 56kg T: G Waterhouse & A Bott$8.00$2.60
11Fake Love (4)J: Mark Zahra 56kg T: C Maher & D Eustace$8.00$2.60
12Naples (12)J: William Pike 56kg T: James Cummings$8.00$2.60



2019 – Mildred (0:58.76)
2018 – Unite And Conquer (0:57.82)
2017 – Nomothaj (0:57.51)
2016 – Madeenaty (0:56.59)
2015 – Sweet Sherry (0:58.12)
2014 – Mihalic (0:57.96)
2013 – Risen From Doubt (0:57.78)
2012 – Kuroshio (0:56.98)
2011 – Cambiaso (0:58.86)
2010 – Sepoy (0:57.58)