Ladies Day Cup


  • row1
    Date: Nov 5, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Hawkesbury
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $150,000


2021 Cox Plate Barrier Draw: Anamoe Draws Wide Again

Cox Plate Barrier Draw

The official 2021 Cox Plate barrier draw is out and there will be 10 horses contesting the 101st running of Australia’s weight-for-age classic on Saturday afternoon. While this is a smaller field than the past few year... Continue Reading

Freedmans land maiden Group One win Mugatoo's owners sweat on Mile wildcard Tagaloa set to replicate on-speed tactics Marquand to test Captivant's Slipper hopes Lindsay Park keeping the faith in Aysar Read more Horse Racing news

The Ladies Day Cup, which is registered as the Safilo Cup, is a 1600m Listed race held at Hawkesbury Racecourse in New South Wales. The handicap has a $150,000 prize pool and in 2020 will be run on Thursday, November 5.

Cellarman won the 2019 edition of the Ladies Day Cup for the Chris Waller stable, with Tamarack and Taikomochi finishing second and third respectively. Testashadow rounded out the first four with Rachel King onboard. After the victory, Cellarman only took part in three more races before retiring.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The first running of the Listed Ladies Day Cup was in 2005, with the Gai Waterhouse-trained Wild Queen scoring the victory. Since then a few trainers have had great success in the race. Peter Snowden won it three straight times from 2009-2011, meanwhile, Chris Waller has claimed victory three times in the last six runnings of the Ladies Day Cup.

In 2019, Cellarman clocked 1:35.65 to win the Ladies Day Cup, however, it was the first time it had been run as a 1600m race. Duca Valentinois had the fastest 1400m race time with 1:21.90 and Blessus clocked 1:14.72 in 2008 to lead all 1300m times.


2019 – Cellarman (1:35.65)
2018 – Pecans (1:22.62) (1400m)
2017 – Duca Valentinois (1:21.90) (1400m)
2016 – Famous Seamus (1:22.36) (1400m)
2014 – Strawberry Boy (1:22.94) (1400m)
2013 – Tromso (1:23.30) (1400m)
2012 – All Legal (1:16.36) (1300m)
2011 – Shannara (1:15.90) (1300m)
2010 – Kanzan (1:16.51) (1300m)