Jim Moloney Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Sep 19, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Caulfield
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $120,000

The Jim Moloney Stakes is a 1400m Listed race worth $120,000 that is held at Caulfield Racecourse. The race is for three-year-old fillies and has set weights plus penalties. The 2020 edition of the race will be held on Saturday, September 19, the same day as the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

I Am Eloquent won the 2019 Jim Moloney Stakes, which was just the second running of the event. She proved too strong, with Excused and Deserved finishing second and third respectively, both less than a length behind. From the Jim Moloney Stakes, I Am Eloquent went on to race in the Group 1 Thousand Guineas, however, finished towards the back of the field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Jim Moloney Stakes was first run in 2018, with Mystic Journey winning the race. Since then, the Adam Trinder-trained runner has won the Australian Guineas and the All-Star Mile.

The race takes its name from legendary racing trainer Jim Moloney. He famously produced the champion sprinter Vain. Sadly, Moloney passed away in late 2015.

In 2019, I Am Eloquent ran a 1:24.95 to win the Jim Moloney Stakes, however it failed to beat Mystic Journey’s 2018 time of 1:23.33. That race also featured Spanish Whisper and Tahitian Dancer.

2020 Jim Moloney Stakes Field

1Thermosphere (6)J: Unknown 58.5kg T: James Cummings$0.00$0.00
2Aidensfield (12)J: Daniel Stackhouse 57kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$4.40$1.75
3Cafe Rizu (13)J: Damien Oliver 57kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$26.00$5.50
4Mozzie Monster (9)J: Ben Melham 56kg T: J D Sadler$2.90$1.40
5Silhouette (10)J: John Allen 56kg T: James Cummings$31.00$6.00
6Agreeable (11)J: Damian Lane 56kg T: A & S Freedman$4.80$1.90
7Malicorne (7)J: Jordan Childs 56kg T: M M Laurie$13.00$3.70
8Yes Baby Yes (3)J: Craig Williams 56kg T: L & T Corstens$26.00$5.50
9A Pinch Of Luck (5)J: Ethan Brown 56kg T: M M Laurie$13.00$3.70
10Melba Storm (4)J: William Pike 56kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$26.00$5.50
11Redeel (1)J: Michael Dee 56kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$31.00$6.00
12Hindaam (8)J: Luke Nolen 56kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$11.00$3.40
13Odeum (2)J: Michael Walker 56kg T: M Price & M Kent Jnr$21.00$5.00



2019 – I Am Eloquent (1:24.95)
2018 – Mystic Journey (1:23.33)