Heritage Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Sep 26, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Rosehill
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,100m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000

The Heritage Stakes is a 1100m Listed race held at Rosehill Racecourse. It is for three-year-old horses, has set weights and penalties and a prize pool of $140,000. In 2020, the race will be held on Saturday, September 26, the same day as the Golden Rose.

Standout won the 2019 edition of the Heritage Stakes, beating Cosmic Force and Pandemic who finished second and third respectively. After winning the race, he placed second in the Roman Consul Stakes and in 2020 won the Group 2 Expressway Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

A number of decent horses have won the Heritage Stakes, however, perhaps the most notable of them all is Lonhro. The Stallion won multiple Group 1s over his career, including the Mackinnon Stakes and the Caulfield Stakes

In 2019, Standout won the Heritage Stakes in 1:03.09. It was a decent time, however, the fastest in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Kuro. In 2014, the Joseph Pride-trained runner clocked 1:02.37 to claim victory in the Listed race.

Heritage Stakes Field

1Wild Ruler (6)J: James Mcdonald 58kg T: P & P Snowden$6.00$2.25
2Destination (1)J: Hugh Bowman 56kg T: James Cummings$5.50$2.15
3Kumasi (14)J: Brenton Avdulla 56kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou$21.00$5.50
4Osamu (9)J: Tim Clark 56kg T: C J Waller$14.00$4.00
5Return With Honour (10)J: Nash Rawiller 56kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou$21.00$5.50
6Encountabull (8)J: Jim Byrne 56kg T: J G Sargent$21.00$5.50
7Pyrmont (2)J: Jean Van Overmeire 56kg T: David Payne$81.00$19.00
8Sixgun (4)J: Joshua Parr 56kg T: Mark Newnham$14.00$4.00
9Rocketing By (7)J: Robbie Dolan 56kg T: David Pfieffer$26.00$6.00
10Forbidden Love (3)J: Tommy Berry 54kg T: R & M Freedman$4.00$1.75
11Time Is Precious (12)J: Glen Boss 54kg T: G Ryan & S Alexiou$21.00$5.50
12Marboosha (5)J: Ms Rachel King 54kg T: P & P Snowden$8.50$2.90
13Chianti (13)J: Jason Collett 54kg T: K A Lees$8.50$2.90
14Pazienza (11)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 54kg T: J W Richards$31.00$6.50



2019 – Standout
2018 – Ragged Rascal
2017 – Viridine
2016 – Guard Of Honour
2015 – Counterattack
2014 – Kuro
2013 – Barbed
2012 – Ichihara
2011 – Karuta Queen
2010 – Decision Time