Geelong Classic


  • row1
    Date: Oct 21, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Geelong
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000

The Geelong Classic is a $140,000 Listed race held at Geelong Racecourse in Victoria. It is raced over 1400m with set weights plus penalties and is for three-year-old horses. In 2020, it will be run on Wednesday, October 21, the same day as the Geelong Cup.

The 2019 edition of the Geelong Classic was won by Long Jack, who beat Southern Moon by half a length, with Relucent finishing third. After winning the race, Long Jack went on to race in the Victoria Derby, finishing mid-field. Southern Moon also raced in the Derby, placing second in an impressive run.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman stable has had decent success in the race of late, training the winner twice in the last three years. Weather With You claimed victory for them in 2017 and they also trained 2019 winner Long Jack.

Jockey Kerrin McEvoy had his own purple patch in the Geelong Classic between 2007 and 2012. In that six-year stretch, McEvoy won the race three separate times, including in two consecutive years in 2011 and 2012.

Long Jack ran 2:16.32 to win the Geelong Classic in 2019, however, the fastest time in the race over the last 20 years came back in 2004. That year, Lions Gate won for the Tony McEvoy stable, winning in 2:13.64.

2020 Geelong Classic Field, Barriers & Odds

1Alcyone (8)J: John Allen 58kg T: James Cummings$3.90$1.60
2Confrontational (6)J: Noel Callow 57kg T: J Warren & D Krongold$11.00$3.30
3Azaly (7)J: Jamie Mott 57kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$10.00$3.00
4Rousseau (1)J: Craig Williams 57kg T: C J Waller$10.00$3.00
5Ultimate Edition (10)J: Damian Lane 57kg T: J E & C Ledger$3.60$1.50
6Token Spirit (2)J: Mark Zahra 57kg T: R D Griffiths$5.50$2.05
7Volatile Stock (9)J: William Pike 57kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$34.00$6.50
8Kenzan (11)J: Damien Oliver 57kg T: D T O’brien$16.00$4.00
9Wisaka (4)J: Billy Egan 57kg T: M D Moroney$19.00$4.80
10Vilanculos (3)J: Jamie Kah 55kg T: D T O’brien$21.00$5.00
11Yesugei (5)J: Daniel Moor 57kg T: D T O’brien$26.00$5.50



2019 – Long Jack (2:16.32)
2018 – Home Ground (2:16.03)
2017 – Weather With You (2:16.47)
2016 – Captain Duffy (2:15.40)
2015 – Extra Choice (2:16.29)
2014 – Nozomi (2:20.35)
2013 – Gamblin’ Guru (2:23.18)
2012 – Solemn (2:16.72)
2011 – Induna (2:18.16)
2010 – Milestone (2:20.86) (2206m)