Doveton Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Nov 14, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Sandown
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000


Sprint stars to return in Black Caviar


Chris Waller's two star sprinters Nature Strip and September Run will both resume in the Black Caviar Lightning at Flemington next month.Waller said they had both come through their trial at Rosehill last Friday in g... Continue Reading

Fabergino ready to fly fresh at Flemington Fake Love scratched from Magic Millions Millions runners require vet clearance Tycoon's Millions bid takes hit with draw An array of stars nominate for All-Star Read more Horse Racing news

The Doveton Stakes is a 1000m Listed handicap race held at Sandown Racecourse in Melbourne. It has a total prize pool of $140,000 and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, November 14, the same day as the Zipping Classic and Sandown Guineas.

Viridine won the 2019 Doveton Stakes ahead of Mystyko and the Mathew Ellerton and Simon Zahra-trained Thermal Current. After the victory, Viridine went on the race in the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes but finished mid-field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Mathew Ellerton has been the leading trainer in the Doveton Stakes over the last 20 years winning it four times. Three of those victories came in consecutive years, with Cross Current (2003), Foreplay (2004) and What’s The Mail (2005) all saluting.

No jockey has quite been able to establish the level of success Ellerton has, however, Michael Rodd did win the Doveton Stakes twice in a row in the 2010s. The first victory was aboard Catapulted and that win was followed the next year on Vatican.

2019 winner Viridine ran 0:56.85 but the fastest 1000m time in the Doveton Stakes over the last 20 years belongs to 2016 winner Husson Eagle. The Patrick Payne-trained galloper clocked 0:56.33 to claim victory.


2019 – Viridine (0:56.85)
2018 – Malibu Style (0:57.21)
2017 – Crystal Dreamer (0:57.16)
2016 – Husson Eagle (0:56.33)
2015 – Wild Rain (0:56.99)
2014 – Danger Close (0:57.72)
2013 – Vatican (0:57.78)
2012 – Catapulted (0:56.00)
2011 – Chasm (1:09.43) (1200m)
2010 – First Command (1:08.38) (1200m)