Desirable Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Nov 3, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,400m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $150,000

The Desirable Stakes, which is registered as the Maybe Mahal Stakes, is a 1400m Listed race held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It has set weights plus penalties, is for three-year-old fillies and has a total prize pool of $150,000. In 2020, the Desirable Stakes will be held on Melbourne Cup Day, which is Tuesday, November 3.

The 2019 edition of the Desirable Stakes was won by Teleplay, with La Tigeresa placing second and Sweet Scandal finishing third. Damian Lane rounded out the first four onboard River Jewel. After winning the Desirable Stakes, Teleplay won the Group 3 Kevin Heffernan Stakes.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Listed Desirable Stakes was first won by Vintner back in 2005. Since then the Snowdens have had good success in the race, with either Peter, Paul, or the pair of them, winning the race three times in a nine-year stretch between 2008 and 2016.

Teleplay ran 1:24.35 to win the 2019 Desirable Stakes, and although it was a solid time, it wasn’t the fastest the race has seen over the last 15 years. That honour belongs Koonoomoo, who clocked 1:21.01 to beat Cabernet and Mid Summer Magic in 2012.

2020 Desirable Stakes Field, Barriers, & Odds

1Stellar Pauline (10)J: Damian Lane 56kg T: P & P Snowden$18.00$4.50
2Joviality (12)J: James Mcdonald 56kg T: C J Waller$2.80$1.35
3Twain’s Express (8)J: Jamie Mott 56kg T: John Mcardle$3.70$1.55
4Sweet Reply (2)J: Damien Oliver 56kg T: R & M Freedman$6.00$2.20
5Violinist (4)J: Luke Currie 56kg T: T & C Mcevoy$15.00$3.90
6Pride Of Jenni (1)J: Noel Callow 56kg T: D R Brideoake$11.00$3.30
7No Restriction (5)J: Declan Bates 56kg T: Archie Alexander$26.00$5.50
8Miss Conduct (11)J: Jye Mcneil 56kg T: A & S Freedman$21.00$5.00
9Vancity Gem (9)J: Kerrin Mcevoy 56kg T: T & C Mcevoy$21.00$5.00
10Way To Go Paula (6)J: Jamie Kah 56kg T: P Stokes$21.00$5.00
11Aswaat (7)J: Daniel Stackhouse 56kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$34.00$6.50
12Ripper Rita (3)J: Ben Melham 56kg T: G Eurell$31.00$6.00



2019 – Teleplay (1:24.35)
2018 – Cool Passion (1:24.01)
2017 – Pedrena (1:22.78)
2016 – Artistry (1:22.99)
2015 – Scarlet Billows (1:22.45)
2014 – Mahara (1:23.31)
2013 – Plucky Belle (1:22.67)
2012 – Koonoomoo (1:21.01)
2011 – Sophie’s Spirit (1:22.47)
2010 – Jersey Lily (1:23.43)