Crockett Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Oct 24, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Moonee Valley
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,200m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $140,000

The Crockett Stakes is a 1200m Listed race for three-year-old fillies that is held at Moonee Valley Racecourse. It has a prize pool of $140,000 and is run with set weights plus penalties. In 2020, the race will be run on Cox Plate day, which is Saturday, October 24.

The Mitchell Freedman-trained Broadwayandfourth won the 2019 edition of the Crockett Stakes, with Niccovi and Villami finishing second and third respectively. After the victory, Broadwayandfourth went on to race in the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes, finishing mid-field behind winner Exceedance.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The race takes its name from former Supreme Court Justice William Crockett. He was a long time Vice-Chairman of the Moonee Valley Racing Club and sadly passed away in 2007.

The Crockett Stakes was the third win in Black Caviar’s career and her first as a three-year-old. That season, she went on to win her first Group race, claiming victory in the Danehill Stakes and Australia Stakes.

No trainer has been able to establish consistent success in the race, however, jockey Michael Rodd did win the Crockett Stakes three times in a row in the early 2010s. He first saluted on Dutchy’s Lass in 2010, before winning onboard Kneeling and Angelic Light.

2019 Crockett Stakes winner Broadwayandfourth clocked 1:11.81 in her victory, however, the fastest time 1200m time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Blondie. In 2017, she ran 1:10.10 to score the win.

2020 Crockett Stakes Field and Odds

1Minhaaj (8)J: Daniel Stackhouse 58.5kg T: T Dabernig & B Hayes$5.50$2.15
2Stellar Pauline (6)J: Damian Lane 56kg T: P & P Snowden$26.00$5.50
3Maha (7)J: Luke Currie 56kg T: T & C Mcevoy$6.50$2.30
4Highly Discreet (1)J: Luke Nolen 56kg T: P Stokes$11.00$3.40
5Written Beauty (13)J: James Mcdonald 56kg T: M, W & J Hawkes$3.20$1.45
6Melba Storm (3)J: William Pike 56kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$16.00$4.20
7Raison D’etre (12)J: Mark Zahra 56kg T: James Cummings$19.00$5.00
8La Mexicana (10)J: Jamie Kah 56kg T: A & S Freedman$5.00$2.00
9Wegobam (5)J: Jye Mcneil 56kg T: L & T Corstens$34.00$6.50
10Twain’s Express (11)J: Jamie Mott 56kg T: John Mcardle$17.00$4.50
11Pretty Rossa (9)J: Ethan Brown 56kg T: M M Laurie$41.00$7.50
12Joey’s Gift (2)J: Michael Dee 56kg T: T Busuttin & N Young$81.00$16.00
13Quiller’s Delight (4)J: Brett Prebble 56kg T: Brent Stanley$41.00$7.50



2019 – Broadwayandfourth (1:11.81)
2018 – Beauty (1:10.44)|
2017 – Blondie (1:10.10)
2016 – Sweet Sherry (1:11.73)
2015 – Lake Geneva (1:10.49)
2014 – Tawteen (1:10.24)
2013 – Minaj (1:11.53)
2012 – Angelic Light (1:12.00)
2011 – Kneeling (1:11.91)
2010 – Dutchy’s Lass (1:12.62)