Century Stakes


  • row1
    Date: Nov 5, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 1,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $150,000


Probabeel Heading Home to NZ After Successful Spring


Star mare Probabeel is heading home to New Zealand after a successful spring campaign in Australia. The preparation came to an end after her gutsy performance in Saturday’s Cox Plate (2040m), where she worked hard t... Continue Reading

Ryan faces an anxious wait with Bottega Third Acceptances: 45 Remain in Quest for 2020 Melbourne Cup Maher hoping Anders ready for Coolmore 2020 Melbourne Cup Hopefuls Line up in Capacity 2020 Bendigo Cup Miami Bound Escapes 2020 Melbourne Cup Weight Penalty Read more Horse Racing news

The Century Stakes, also sometimes known as the Absolut Stakes, is a 1000m Listed sprint held at Flemington Racecourse in Victoria. The race has set weights plus penalties and a prize pool of $150,000. In 2020, it will be run on Thursday, November 5, which is the same day as the VRC Kennedy Oaks.

Craig Williams rode Soothing to victory in the 2019 Century Stakes, with Ball Of Muscle and Badajoz finishing second and third respectively. The next time Soothing raced was in 2020 in the Group 1 Galaxy, where she finished mid-field.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The Century Stakes has an impressive history, with some great horses claiming victory in the race over the years. Two-time Everest winner Redzel won the race in 2016 and the year before that The Quarterback crossed the line first. Superstar Lankan Rupee saluted in 2013, which was the same season he won the Oakleigh Plate, Newmarket Handicap and TJ Smith.

Over the last 20 years, only one horse has won the Century Stakes in consecutive years. Into The Night was successful in 2002 and then again in 2003, however, interestingly the wins were with different jockeys.

As of 2011, the Century Stakes has been run over 1000m. Since then, the fastest winning time was recorded by Atmospherical who clocked 0:56.45 in 2014. Soothing, who won the 2019 edition of the race, ran 0:57.30 to cross the line first.


2019 – Soothing (0:57.30)
2018 – Thermal Current (0:57.33)
2017 – Ball Of Muscle (0:56.81)
2016 – Redzel (0:56.72)
2015 – The Quarterback (0:57.96)
2014 – Atmospherical (0:56.45)
2013 – Lankan Rupee (0:57.41)
2012 – General Truce (0:56.65)
2011 – Rocking Force (0:57.58)
2010 – Temple Of Boom (1:04.28) (1100m)