Ballarat Cup


  • row1
    Date: Nov 21, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Ballarat
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,000m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $300,000

The Ballarat Cup is a 2000m Listed race held at Ballarat Racecourse in Victoria. The handicap has a $300,000 prize pool and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, November 21.

Kiwia made it back-to-back Ballarat Cup wins when he won the race in 2019. Double You Tee finished second, with the Chris Waller pair of Another Dollar and Carzoff finishing third and fourth respectively. After the victory, Kiwia did not race again in 2019.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

Jockey Brad Rawiller has had great success in the Ballarat Cup over recent years, winning it three straight times from 2010 to 2012. The first of those wins was on My Bentley, and it was followed by victories aboard Domesky and King Diamond. The 2010 and 2011 wins were both Michael Kent-trained gallopers.

2019 Ballarat Cup winner Kiwia clocked 2:03.74 to win the race, however, it was the first time in the last 20 years that it was run over 2000m. Prior to that, it was a 2200m race, and the quickest winning time over that distance in recent years belongs to Aquiver. The John Hawkes runner recorded 2:14.00 to win in 2001.


2019 – Kiwia (2:03.74)
2018 – Kiwia (2:20.59)
2017 – Grand Dreamer (2:25.79)
2016 – Pilot D’Essai (2:14.14)
2015 – Junoob (2:18.45)
2014 – Mujadale (2:17.80)
2013 – The Offer (2:25.10)
2012 – King Diamond (2:18.45)
2011 – Domesky (2:19.26)
2010 – My Bentley (2:17.03)