VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

Group 3

  • row1
    Date: Nov 7, 2020
  • row2
    Racecourse: Flemington
  • row3
    Race Distance: 2,600m
  • row4
  • row5
    Prize Money: $300,000


Track Manager Spills the Beans on How The Valley Track Will Play!

20191026001428884639 original

The Valley is home to 18 races in 24 hours, with the track pattern largely a mystery with the predicted rain to come on Friday evening and throughout the day on Saturday. The track is currently rated a Good 4, but the... Continue Reading

James McDonald Ready for Cox Plate with ‘Airborne’ Ride Mare can complete McEvoy's grand slam set 2020 Cox Plate Vet Checks: Armory Passed Fit, Magic Wand Out COVID-19 makes 2020 Plate like no other Cox Plate timing right for import Mugatoo Read more Horse Racing news

The VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is a 2600m Group 3 quality handicap race held Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne. It has a prize pool of $300,000 and in 2020 will be run on Saturday, November 7.

True Self won the 2019 edition of the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes, with Carif and Maurus finishing second and third respectively The David Hayes-trained Ventura Storm rounded out the first four, 2.5 lengths behind the winner. After winning the race, True Self competed in the Group 1 Hong Kong Vase at Sha Tin but failed to place.

Racing Sharks VIP Tips Package:

Click here for free horse racing tips

The very first running of the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes was way back in 1854, which Shadow won. Since then some top-grade horses have claimed victory in the race, including Phar Lap, Ajax, Rising Fast, Galilee, Might And Power and Makybe Diva. In fact, the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes was the first Group race Makybe Diva ever won.

Interestingly, from 1979 to 2004 the VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes was a Group 2 race. In 2005 though, it got downgraded to a Group 3. It has also been run over a variety of different distances, but as of 2010 has been settled on 2600m.

True Self clocked 2:45.42 to win the 2019 VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes, however, the fastest 2600m time in the race over the last 20 years belongs to Francis Of Assisi. The Charlie Appleby-clocked 2:41.13 in 2016 to claim victory in the race.


2019 – True Self (2:45.42)
2018 – Jaameh (2:45.09)
2017 – Vengeur Masque (2:42.99)
2016 – Francis Of Assisi (2:41.13)
2015 – Dandino (2:46.93)
2014 – Le Roi (2:43.13)
2013 – Precedence (2:46.45)
2012 – Puissance De Lune (2:44.23)
2011 – Ironstein (2:44.81)
2010 – Moudre (2:45.22)